So in my continuing quest to learn the game without playing the game, I call it mindhammer, how on earth are you meant to fire multi blast weapons and other questions? I apologise in advance for writing such a long post to cover something that is probably quite simple.
Heres my train of thought.
So we have the first four steps of a normal shooting sequence
1/Pick target unit
2/Check range.
3/Roll to hit, roll a
D6 for each shot fired.
4/roll to wound
And the blast weapon rules start with "models do not roll to hit instead etc etc"
So the shooting sequence for a unit with blast weapons is.
1/Pick target unit.
2/Check range to unit
3/then instead of roll to hit the blast rules kick in.
>Pick a model visible to firer.
>Place centre of blast template over target.
>Check centre of blast template is in range.
>Roll scatter dice and
2D6 >Move blast template.
>Work out hits from blast weapons.
4/then its back to normal rules with the rolls to wound.
So while normal weapons say "for each shot fired" there is no equivalent for blast weapons. The multi blast rules say "If a unit is firing more then one blast weapon resolve each shot separately and then fire other weapons" but this rule doesn't cover firing the same weapon twice, just firing more then one blast weapon.
So here at long last are my questions.
The way I interpreted the shooting sequence for blast weapons rules suggest you have to measure the range to the unit before placing the blast template and checking the template is within range. If the target unit is on the edge of your range this gives you the advantage of knowing that those models on the far side of the unit are likely going to be out of range of the blast weapon whilst those models on the near side of the unit should be within range. Although to me this is what the rules seem to suggest it seems wrong. So is it done as I have written above or should you place the template before measuring anything?
When firing a blast 2 weapon do you?
1/Follow the multi blast rules for firing multiple blast weapons? (even though its one weapon)
2/Only place one template, role for scatter once and multiply the hits by two?
3/Place one template and roll scatter from that position twice?
The phase "Pick a model visible to firer" has me bothered. How does the target units own unit intervening models effect this Although I understand that models can always be shot at though members of there own unit without giving a cover save. A cover save is not line of sight. So can line of sight be drawn though models in a unit to a model at the back?
Thats about it I think. Thanks.