Switch Theme:

Tk Incantation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If a TK unit fails a charge in its movement phase, can the incantation make it move, shoot or charge?

What if one caster makes it move, it tries to charge and fails - can another caster make it shoot?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, as it provides permission to do so. Yes, as above..
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ok, so upon further reading, I don't see anything that says a unit that fails a charge couldn't declare another charge. Typically it won't happen because that phase has passed, but there's no prohibition. Similarly, it says only that units that didn't fail a charge in this movement phase can't move in that movement phase.

So I think you are fine to charge.

However, the rules say "Models that have marched, reformed, or rallied this turn cannot shoot, nor can those that made a failed charge...."

To me, this is specific vs general. Incantation of Smiting gives you permission to shoot, but doesn't let you ignore the limitations on shooting.

Thoughts?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except that the prohibition on shooting is the more general rule, the incantation (specific to TK) requires the unit to fire.

Given this can include the "cannot fire next turn" part of a misfire that seems to indicate that you could indeed shoot.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The Incantation reads "it can immediately shoot with any missile weapons it carries. This is effectively an additional Shooting phase."

Seems like the second sentence indicates this is a general rule, allowing it another shooting phase, but still subject to all the restrictions of such.

Actually, if it worked as you say, wouldn't the Screaming Skull Catapult fire as normal, ignoring the restriction from a misfire earlier in the turn on not firing?

Since it doesn't, it seems that it just counts as a regular shooting.

Plus it even clarifies that it only works on the catapult "if it hasn't moved this turn." Once again, seeming to show that normal restrictions still apply.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/17 22:25:40


 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: