| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 00:30:54
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Hey all,
We had 2 interesting questions come up last night in a game of IG vs Necrons....
1) Using a Colossus Ordance Battery....states that it cannot fire directly and that the minimum range is 24 inches...so I play the template center and it is about 29 inches away, but my opponent measures from the closest model in the unit and it is 23 inches away and states that since the unit is closer then 24 inches that I cannot target the unit. We rolled a dice and he won...but what is the ruling on this. Do you measure from the model that you nominate or from the closest model in the unit.
2) When a necron warrior dies in a unit, it is an instant death due to 2x Toughness, but there is a lord nearby, do you measure from the unit itself or the downed model. I thought it was the unit, but he thought it was the model.
Thanks guys....its probably in the rulebook but I lost my to a house fire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 00:35:13
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
Montreal
|
1) You measure from the model.
2) I have no idea :S
Sorry to hear about the fire :(
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 00:36:37
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can't help you on the first, but res orbs affect models within 12". WBB is done on a model-basis, not a unit-basis.
|
What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money
"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 00:38:42
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
1) You measure from the targeted model. Editing to add: That is not quite right; you must target a model, but you actually measure to the blast marker. 2) From the downed model to the standing model--if this version of the codex is to be believed.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/08 00:39:38
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 02:34:53
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
#1. Targeted model, ie where the center dot starts before scatter.
#2. Since you mention Lord for #2, I'm assuming you're talking about the res orb, right? If so, then any unit with a model within 6" of the Lord carrying the Orb gains the benefits of the Orb. So if one model is within 6" of the Lord, and 19 models are not, the unit gets the benefit of the Orb. Page 15, Necron codex, res orb description.
The model to model bit is for WBB and is also 6".
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 13:05:48
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Gavin Thorne wrote:Can't help you on the first, but res orbs affect models within 12".
No, sorry, but they don't. Range of the Res Orb is only 6".
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 17:16:25
Subject: Re:2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Sacramento, CA
|
1.Measure all blast ranges to the location of the blast marker.
2.Res orb goes by the unit. If any models in the unit are within the proper distance of the Lord at the time the casualty takes place then the orb works.
|
Agitator noster fulminis percussus est |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 13:29:18
Subject: Re:2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Raxmei wrote:1.Measure all blast ranges to the location of the blast marker.
Where on the blast marker? Point being, both of them measured, just from different parts of the blast marker. Now if you change that to center dot of the blast marker, it's acceptable..................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 14:47:01
Subject: Re:2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
don_mondo wrote:Raxmei wrote:1.Measure all blast ranges to the location of the blast marker.
Where on the blast marker? Point being, both of them measured, just from different parts of the blast marker. Now if you change that to center dot of the blast marker, it's acceptable..................
Right. You place the center hole of the blast marker over your target model. Then you measure from your weapon to the center of the blast marker. If it is within range, then you roll scatter. If it is not in range, it is an auto-miss.
At least that's the way we play it
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 14:48:38
Subject: Re:2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
puma713 wrote:don_mondo wrote:Raxmei wrote:1.Measure all blast ranges to the location of the blast marker.
Where on the blast marker? Point being, both of them measured, just from different parts of the blast marker. Now if you change that to center dot of the blast marker, it's acceptable..................
Right. You place the center hole of the blast marker over your target model. Then you measure from your weapon to the center of the blast marker. If it is within range, then you roll scatter. If it is not in range, it is an auto-miss.
At least that's the way we play it 
That is the correct procedure.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 15:10:16
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually you check range to target first THEN you place the marker and check range again - this is because the blast rules replace the normal shooting process *after* the check range step.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 15:24:50
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually you check range to target first THEN you place the marker and check range again - this is because the blast rules replace the normal shooting process *after* the check range step.
Really? I did not know that.
I've always interpreted placing the blast marker as "declaring" the shot, hence, place blast marker then check range.
But if I can check range before placing a blast marker... I suppose that wouldn't be too much of an advantage, since declaring shooting, then checking range, then placing the blast marker is just as likely to "miss" automatically due to not having range as placing the blast marker, then checking range.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/09 15:45:31
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you reread which parts "blast" replaces you should see the step that it kicks in at is after check range - probably because, from memory, check range and LOS is one combined step.
It helps with the shorter blast weapons, such as Vindicators, where you may not be able to get the shell in the middle of the unit (e.g. it's at 25") but could place it at the front - instead of definitely missing you have got a chance of doing some damage
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/10 11:02:31
Subject: 2 Tricky Question from playing last night
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
You shouldnt play that guy again probably, that was a pretty douchey thing to make you 4+ and then lose.
|
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|