Switch Theme:

3 inch to claim objective...well what about vertical distance: i.e. elevated terrain?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






So we played a game, objective based, and we had to be within three inches of the objective to claim it. One objective was on elevated terrain, about 4-5 inches off the tabletop. If you are next to elevated terrain, but quite below the objective itself, can you still claim it?

I argue that you cannot--that you should make your way on top of the elevated terrain to claim. If I am standing next to a mountain, can I claim what is at it'speak without climbing it by standing at the base?

What do you think?


The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points

"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

DakkaDakka wrote:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/15 03:16:17


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






so vertical doesn't count, or does?


The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points

"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




When you move jump infantry, do you measure the horizontal distance or do you measure the actual 3d distance?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/15 03:17:34


 
   
Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






I use daemons: I've never had jump infantry.

My friend made the same argument, although I feel like they are two separate issues. Movement is different from objective claiming. In order to claim an objective, you should be within reach, or 2-3 inches. Yet you're not within reach if you're at the base of elevated terrain.


The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points

"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Nowhere do the rules tell you to only measure distances on the horizontal plane.

So you measure directly from the model's base to the object in question. Not just horizontally.

 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Michigan

but he also did not measure that distance when moving his unit, it was a simple dangerous terrain check. So if he wasn't required to do that and it wasn't stated at the beginning of the game, then it would seem a bit unfair from the other player perspective.

Sometimes you've gotta roll the hard six ~ Adm. Adama
Surprise, I just did something horrible to you! ~ Me





 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You are told you have to be within 3" of the objective. Nothing states you only measure this on a single plane. It is perfectly fine to not "clarify" this beforehand as it is inherent in the game.

The game is 3D inherently. There are some instances where it is abstracted to 2D (Blast markers for example) but in the main it is not.
   
Made in gb
Prospector with Steamdrill






I think it does state in the rule book that when measuring distances vertically it can be from any part of the model, not just the base. As an abstraction it suggests using each floor as being 2" apart, so in this case you could claim the objective from the floor above or below, but not more than that.

   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Michigan

If it was from Any part of the model I should still have been fine then. I am fine with counting vertically as long as distance over two inches require people to take that into account with their movement Phase in which it was not accounted for at the time of question.

Sometimes you've gotta roll the hard six ~ Adm. Adama
Surprise, I just did something horrible to you! ~ Me





 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

tp_1983 wrote:I think it does state in the rule book that when measuring distances vertically it can be from any part of the model, not just the base.


That's for measuring coherency in Ruins. Nothing more. The rules for measuring distances on page 3 of the rulebook tell you to measure from the model's base. Ruins have a specific rule for coherency in Ruins that allows you to measure from any part of the model.

 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Michigan

I was reviewing the rules and maybe this has a tie into this chat, On Pg 13 of the main rule book, it state the following: "You should discuss all such terrain feature with opponent before the game and agree exacly what everything counts as and where boundaries of terrain feature lie."


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So in that regard both Shenra and I were both wrong as we did not go into great detail.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/15 12:58:00


Sometimes you've gotta roll the hard six ~ Adm. Adama
Surprise, I just did something horrible to you! ~ Me





 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





I think it is generally accepted that when the objective is in a building, you can be one floor up or down from it, aslong as you're pretty much directly above or below it. (Rooms generally being 2-3" high)

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Michigan

Pg 83 of the rule book, does give a good example of having to measure those distances within your movement.

Sometimes you've gotta roll the hard six ~ Adm. Adama
Surprise, I just did something horrible to you! ~ Me





 
   
Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






Movement and measurement to objective seems to be two different issues.


The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points

"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: