Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 20:15:12
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
can a death company dread hold an objective?
im sure it probably cant but cant find anything that says it cant.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 20:16:27
Subject: Re:can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
The dread is a vehicle. Look at the rules for what determines scoring units, and how vehicles are specifically prohibited.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/16 20:19:16
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Page 90, Scoring Units is the clear and explicit rule you're looking for.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 00:19:46
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
But just FYI, a troops choice in a dedicated tranport sitting on an objective counts as holding that objective.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 00:24:27
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh
|
Plus, death company models can't hold objectives anyway: this was handled in a battle report when somebody at GW made an all death company army and flat out stated the only way to win was annihilation because there were no scoring units at all in his army.
|
Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.
Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.
Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 00:31:11
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
liam0404 wrote:But just FYI, a troops choice in a dedicated tranport sitting on an objective counts as holding that objective. Because it is the Troops infantry(or jump infantry when Blood angels in a storm raven) that score not the transport. Also the transport that the troops unit is inside of does not need to be dedicated. Timetowaste: Death company dreads do not have the same rules as death company(black rage); specifically they do not not score by virtue of sharing a name element and fluff, but rather by being vehicles.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/17 00:34:37
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 02:11:24
Subject: Re:can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Nope, vehicles cannot hold objectives. Page 90. Only exception is a transport that has a scoring unit inside.
|
7 Armies 30,000+
, , , , , , , |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 02:22:20
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
Does a vendetta holding a scoring unit over an objective count as holding it, even though the hull is more than 3" away from the objective?
Holding objectives isn't embark/debark, or assault, so the special rule for using the base doesn't apply.
Thoughts?
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 02:32:59
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The FAQ answer says that you measure to the base for contesting objectives, which implies that you'd also measure to it for holding an objective with a scoring unit inside.
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1490293a_FAQ_ImperialGuard_2009.pdf
It isn't explicit, but given that you measure to the hull for a regular vehicle contesting an objective, and you measure to the hull for a transport vehicle containing a scoring unit holding an objective, it makes sense.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 02:33:10
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Yes the Valk/vendetta (Carrying a troop unit) can claim an objective, or contest an objective with/without the unit embarked. This is because the IG FAQ says it does: Q. How do you treat the Valkyrie base for gaming? Due to its height it seems that it is impossible for a Valkyrie to contest an objective, or for troops to disembark/embark normally. A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook with the following exception: For the purposes of contesting objectives and embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base. For example, models wishing to embark within a Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their movement, all models within the unit are within 2" of the Valkyrie’s base.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/17 02:33:58
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 12:18:38
Subject: Re:can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
wow, sry for hijacking the thread, but does this also go for wave serpents?? Do you measure from the flying base and not the hull of the vehicle?!
Just asking, because i play against eldars so much that this will totally nerf them if true
EDIT: Just reread the rule about skimmers... So the problem with vendetta is that it's too high from ground?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/17 12:21:37
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny
(")_(") to help him gain world domination. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 12:47:58
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
It has a different base, which is bigger an much higher than the serpent's one.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 13:06:23
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The Valk/Vendetta had this rule Faq'd because the hull is more than 3" from the ground.
The Storm Raven has this rule built in.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/17 15:57:41
Subject: can a death company dread hold an objective?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
liam0404 wrote:But just FYI, a non-vehicle troops choice in a [snip] tranport sitting on an objective counts as holding that objective.
Fixed that for you. You could have a Death Company Dread in a Stormraven, but it would not hold only challenge the objective.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
|