Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:02:23
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
Effect: During a Turn in which a unit equipped with rad grenades assaults, the enemy's unit(s) suffers a -1 T until end of the phase
Question: if i have an IC e.g. a Grand Master with rad grenades and he is joined with a unit that does not have rad grenades.
what is the correct way to play it from below
1: Only he get the -1 T on the enemies
2: He and the unit he joined get the -1 T on the enemies
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/04/02 15:24:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:06:30
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
Only enemy units suffer the -1 toughness, not friendly models. And only in close combat.
Edit: Rad granades work when the unit assualts or is also assualted, and they work on every model in the enemy unit, icluding attached ICs
Psy.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/02 15:08:18
Purge the Daemon
1500pts. Purifier MSU. In Construction.
The Emperor Protects. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:12:25
Subject: Re:Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
To expand on this:
GKGM with Rad Grenades attached to a Paladin squad.
They multi-charge two units, the GKGM being in contact with only one unit.
Do both units suffer -1 T? Rad Grenades isn't a special rule that is granted to everyone in the unit, so the second unit wasn't assaulted by anyone with Rad Grenades.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:15:48
Subject: Re:Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
somerandomdude wrote:To expand on this:
GKGM with Rad Grenades attached to a Paladin squad.
They multi-charge two units, the GKGM being in contact with only one unit.
Do both units suffer -1 T? Rad Grenades isn't a special rule that is granted to everyone in the unit, so the second unit wasn't assaulted by anyone with Rad Grenades.
its says units(s)
e.g. both/all enemy units are effected
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:16:30
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
The wording in the codex is "During a turn in which a unit equipped with rad grenades launches an assualt, or is assualted, the enemy unit(s) suffer a -1 penalty to Toughness"
in the instance you provided, I'd reason that only the assualt with the Grandmaster would apply the -1 to Toughness as he is not part of the second assualt.
Psy. Automatically Appended Next Post: ThatMG wrote:
its says units(s)
e.g. both/all enemy units are effected
Here is where rules disputes happen; the term "Unit(s)" could apply to it being more than one model or more than one squad.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/02 15:18:07
Purge the Daemon
1500pts. Purifier MSU. In Construction.
The Emperor Protects. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:21:02
Subject: Re:Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
nah in his cause 1 of his unit is multi-assaulting (2) enemy units the grenades would effect every enemy because of launches an assault, enemy units(s)
its not what they asssault is IF they assault or ARE assaulted. In theory you could effect any number of units if this is correct.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/02 15:24:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:25:11
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
However, the Paladin squad does not have rad granades, the Grandmaster does. Ergo, if the Grandmaster is not in the assualt then how can the rad grenades take effect?
Psy.
|
Purge the Daemon
1500pts. Purifier MSU. In Construction.
The Emperor Protects. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:28:10
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
PsyberAngel wrote:However, the Paladin squad does not have rad granades, the Grandmaster does. Ergo, if the Grandmaster is not in the assualt then how can the rad grenades take effect?
Psy.
Then I made mistake I thought you meant that Rad Grenades effect the enemy unit so the GK grand master and the unit he is with gets the effect
OR It does not matter if he is in the assault it matters IF he assaulted.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/02 15:29:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 15:31:42
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
Nope, only the unit equipped with rad grenades would gain the effect. So Paladins with Grandmaster assualt then the enemy is at -1 Toughness. Paladins multi-assualt then only the assualt which includes the Grandmaster.
Hope that clears things up.
Psy. Automatically Appended Next Post: The Grandmaster is an IC and therefore counts as a unit by himself, albeit with the ability to be joined to another. Thus, HE is the unit with rad grenades and so only the assualt involving him would have the effect.
Psy.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/02 15:33:55
Purge the Daemon
1500pts. Purifier MSU. In Construction.
The Emperor Protects. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/02 21:48:27
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
He counts as a unit by himself WHEN RESOLVING ATTACKS
Up until that poiint, as pages 48 and 49 repeatedly state, he is a normal member of the unit
So when GKGM+Paladins assault 3 units, all 3 units will be at -1T
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/03 06:29:29
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Sorry, nosferatu1001, the IC rules take great pains to codify what the IC does and does not do (otherwise the rules wouldn't take 2 whole pages).
The Special Rules paragraph on pg48 points out that ICs don't confer special rules unless the rules state so specifically. This is why in the DE book, Phantasm Grenade Launchers specifically state that they confer assault and defensive grenades to the entire unit.
ICs & Assaults make it clear that ICs are always treated as a separate single-model unit and that you are, essentially, entering into a multiassault.
That being said, you'll get your super-grenades' effects against any unit that gets into B2B with the IC concerned, which is quite likely since the IC has to move in/pile in first and if another unit assaults, they have to try and get in B2B with as many models as possible. If you do the charge/pile in of your IC right, you can maximize the effect of the grenades.
Considering how awesome these grenades are, it's a laughably light 'weakness'.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/03 06:29:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/03 09:06:49
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
DeviantApostle wrote:Sorry, nosferatu1001, the IC rules take great pains to codify what the IC does and does not do (otherwise the rules wouldn't take 2 whole pages).
The Special Rules paragraph on pg48 points out that ICs don't confer special rules unless the rules state so specifically. This is why in the DE book, Phantasm Grenade Launchers specifically state that they confer assault and defensive grenades to the entire unit.
First of all, wargear are not special rules. Second, the DE launcher confers grenades to the whole unit, becaus defensive and assault grenades work only for models equipped with it, not the whole unit.
ICs & Assaults make it clear that ICs are always treated as a separate single-model unit and that you are, essentially, entering into a multiassault.
This is wrong, nos' answer quoted the important rules already. The only thing even close to your statement is "When attacks are resolved, however, independet characters are allways treated as sperate, single model unit[...]"
That being said, you'll get your super-grenades' effects against any unit that gets into B2B with the IC concerned, which is quite likely since the IC has to move in/pile in first and if another unit assaults, they have to try and get in B2B with as many models as possible. If you do the charge/pile in of your IC right, you can maximize the effect of the grenades.
Considering how awesome these grenades are, it's a laughably light 'weakness'.
I'll ignore the whining about GKs. The grenade triggers when the unit is assaulted or assaults, which is before defenders react, before you figure out who made it into close combat, and, most importantly, before you resolve any attacks. So the IC is still part of the unit, and and the grenade will work against anyone assaulting his unit or any anyone his unit assaults.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/03 09:08:17
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/03 10:47:15
Subject: Rad Grenades and IC
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yeah Nos is right the grenades specify unit and the unit includes the IC. Trying to force your interpretation makes psychotroke grenades do nothing...
The IC and unit are 1 unit for all purposes except resolving attacks in CC.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|