Switch Theme:

Cmd Barge Polo mallet  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

Eldar / DE Skimmer moves Cruising or more on their Turn.

Ralph "Nemesor" Lauren comes along on his pony named "Cmd. Barge" and takes a swing via Sweep Attack.

Necron 'dex says it hits on 4+ if Cmd. B moved X and on a 3+ if it moved Y.

BRB says vehicles having moved Cruising or more are hit on s.

You're a TO and two players come to you with this.

Does the Sweep Attack hit on 6 (BRB) or according to the Necron book, 4/3?

Make Da Call.

(SEARCH didn't come up with this one specifically)

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

6+ to hit when Cruising is specifically for vehicles being assaulted. Sweep Attacks are not assaulting, and the rules are more specific so Sweep Attack takes precedence.
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

I would have said as my first reaction that one skimmer can't skimmer over another, but it appears you can.

Thing is it isn't an Assault (I don't think vehicles actually can assault can they?) so the +6 thing doesn't come into it.

Even if it did the Necron book makes no account for the movement of the enemy and specifically excludes cover saves.

So it's the 3/4 for my tuppence

 
   
Made in sa
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

3/4. It's not the assault phase, it's something different.

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

marv! Same Marv of Warseer? A fez wearing badger, Marv?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in sa
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

Could be....

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Necron codex says 3+/4+ (circumstances deciding)

no assaults are made as this is the movement phase.

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If the Lord moves 12" over the DE Skimmer, he needs 3+ to hit, then he jumps out of the CMD and assaults the DE Skimmer, he then needs 6's to hit. Doesn't sound right, but thems the rulz.

"That's not a CLUB boy, it's a Baton!"
'What do you do with it?'
"We CLUB people with it." 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




4's to hit, from memory it's 3+ only if you move up to 6".
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





codex rule replace BRB if they are disagreement. end of story

8000 Dark Angels (No primaris)
10000 Lizardmen (Fantasy I miss you)
3000 High Elves
4000 Kel'shan Ta'u
"He attacked everything in life with a mix of extraordinary genius and naive incompetence, and it was often difficult to tell which was which." -Douglas Adams 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

captain collius wrote:codex rule replace BRB if they are disagreement. end of story


That's not necessarily true, Specific trumps general so the more specific rule(usually in a codex) is the one that wins out.


In the case of this rule its for assaulting a vehicle you consult the table based on movement speed, the command barge sweep attacks are not an assault and happen in the movement phase with it's own specific rules that allow the sweeping attacks to be made.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/04/11 18:07:41


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

Agreed. The attacks arent made in an assault and it says that the vehicle may only be hit on a d6 roll of 6+ in an assualt specifically. I guess the easiest comparison would be like a vehicle moving 12 and you shooting it. Different phase, different attack, different proceedure and set of rules alltogeather. Dosent make sense but what does in GW?

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

It makes perfect sense. You have an Overlord flying around on a Catacomb Command Barge and he needs only to stick his war-scythe out as he flys by and tries to hit it. The CCB can match/counter the speed of an opposing enemy vehicle as well as the distance a Skimmer or Jet-bike can be off the ground. An Overlord grounded has no ability to move as fast, isn't hardly as maneuverable as a vehicle, and cannot match the height a skimmer or jet-bike can achieve.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

nosferatu1001 wrote:4's to hit, from memory it's 3+ only if you move up to 6".

12".


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ray Age wrote:If the Lord moves 12" over the DE Skimmer, he needs 3+ to hit, then he jumps out of the CMD and assaults the DE Skimmer, he then needs 6's to hit.

This.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/12 02:58:55


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Baltimore

Also it says cover saves may not be taken for wounds...are glancing and penetrating hits wounds?
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

helixthief wrote:Also it says cover saves may not be taken for wounds...are glancing and penetrating hits wounds?
Please don't ask that. Search for plentiful discussions on the subject to see why. Cover saves are irrelevant to this subject, as they aren't permitted against sweep attacks.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




helixthief wrote:Also it says cover saves may not be taken for wounds...are glancing and penetrating hits wounds?


Yes, as far as vehicles are concerned. To say otherwise denies you the ability to ever take cover saves on vehicles
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

NecronLord3 wrote:
helixthief wrote:Also it says cover saves may not be taken for wounds...are glancing and penetrating hits wounds?
Please don't ask that. Search for plentiful discussions on the subject to see why. Cover saves are irrelevant to this subject, as they aren't permitted against sweep attacks.


I'm with this. Let's not bother with bringing Cover Saves into it.

For my part, I'd agree with most:

Hits on 4+/3+ for Ralph "Nemesor" Lauren as it ain't a h2h attack. Specific (codex) prevails over general (BRB) Cruising + hits on s.


Which leads me to ...

goddamn, but necrons, Imo, tesla, Oby, scarabs are FREAKIN' BROKEN!!!!!!

But that's for another thread in a different forum.

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: