Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
So this is a really rare situation but I figured I bring it up anyway because I stand and shoot a lot and also flee a lot in my army.
The order of operations for declaring charges as I understand them go: 1 ) Charging player declares a charge 2) defending player declares a reaction to charge 3) reaction resolves 4) charging player declares another charge or redirects first charge (continue this cycle until no more charges are to be declared) then charging player rolls charge distance and moves in.
I get this from "The Player picks one of his units and announces which enemy unit it will charge. The enemy must make its charge reaction before another charge can be declared" PG 19 of my little red book.
The funky situation I foresee happening is this: defending play has Unit A with short range weapons (lets say 12"), there opponent declares a charge against said Unit A with Unit B which is more than 12" away (lets say 15"). The defending player then resolves his stand and shoot reaction before the chargers (Unit B) have moved in. The charging player then declares another charge against Unit A with Unit C and then Unit A declares a flee reaction. The flee reaction resolves and the unit flees far away (let's say 12").
At this point the charging player (owner of Unit B &C) no longer has any charges to declare and the roll for charge distance. Both B&C fail their charge and lets say for argument sake that unit B only goes 2".
We now have a unit (Unit B) who has been shot at by Unit A and at no point was it with in shooting range of unit A.
Thoughts?
2012/06/15 19:22:18
Subject: Re:Charging Order of Operations grey area.
That is explained under Stand and Shoot. pg 17 paragraph at the bottom of the page, first column, and page 18 under There's Too Many of Them! italicized section middle of the page. You have the order and resolution correct.
Short answer: It's perfectly legal.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/15 19:24:05
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
It appears that in 8th ed you can also have a long range penalty for standing and shooting which seems silly. In older editions I could have sworn there was a rule that said no range penalties.