Switch Theme:

Pile in rule that ends the combat?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Greensboro, NC

On page 23 of the rulebook it states:
When making pile in moves, the player whose turn it is moves his unit(s) first. If both player's pile in moves combined would be insufficient to bring any combatants back together , the assault comes to an end. All remaining initiative steps are lost - work out the assault result as described on page 26.

I do not understand what this means. Can someone give me an example of this happening?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

When you remove the casualties from the combat, you can wind up with a sizable gap between the units. Normally, you would just pile in at the end of the combat to get models back into base contact.

If you can't, (because the distance between the units is too great, or there is something in the way) then the combat ends. Meaning that at the start of the next player turn, neither unit is considered to still be locked in combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/30 23:26:08


 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Greensboro, NC

I see now. I'm not used to considering taking units from the frontlines in assault combat. It makes sense now that I think of it that way. Thanks for pointing that out to me
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Insaniak is right, but it can happen in the middle of the fight also.

Lets say two tac marine combat squads, pretty spread out when they hit.
Squad A assaults, and barely gets into contact, with the PFist guy in the way back.
Squad B is also spread out, with the Pfist guy in the way back.
On I4, the both squads Pile In, and attack each other. As luck would have it, they both cause 4 unsaved wounds. Thus the only two left are the two Pfist guys.
At I1, the both move 3" towards each other; but since they were 7" apart.... they fail to get into combat. Their attacks are 'lost', and the combat is over.

You then determine assault winner, morale checks, fall backs, sweeping advances, etc. Barring fall backs etc., the units will not Pile In again. (another 3"each) to get into base contact and wait for next turn. (If the second pile in still leaves them apart.... then they consolidate and are no longer locked in combat.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, you essentially have the combat zones of 4th back, but they're 6" across now
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Note that this is essentially the same rule as it was in 5e, except now you each get 3" instead of 6". That means it may occur more often, but probably unlikely still.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not at all "essentially" the same rule, in operaiton it works quite differently. For instance you can stop MSS hitting important models, or any modek at all, as no Defenders React to being models in.
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Montain Home, Ar

Hmmmm. Good. Sounds like my guard blobs might survive a bit better and longer now!

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: