Switch Theme:

(Resolved) Flyer + Evade + Jink + Snap Fire + Doom Scythe + Deathray + LOS  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






Flyer can Evade to Jink but in the following turn, it may only Snap Fire
Snap Fire says no salvo, blast, template, etc and BS 1
Deathray doesn't use a BS and it is not a blast or template weapon

So, can you Evade / Jink one turn to avoid the enemy, then on your turn still use the Deathray?

+ + + Part 2 + + +

LOS is needed to target a unit
Deathray doesn't target
BRB says you only kill what you see

So if a Deathray travels beyond an Object that blocks a unit from LOS of the Flyer, but hits one or more models in this "hidden" unit, can any wounds be allocated or not?

Cheers,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
BTW: Talking about Necron Doom Scythe

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/07/02 17:20:57


6K, 7K, 5K, 8K, 7K 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Ohio

You answered your own question about death ray and snap shot. If it doesn't have use BS, it doesn't get a snap shot. (p. 13).
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






newbis wrote:You answered your own question about death ray and snap shot. If it doesn't have use BS, it doesn't get a snap shot. (p. 13).


Ok, just read Snap Shot again... Appearently I missed the last darn sentence.... thank you.

pg 13... "If a model is forced to make Snap Shots.. then its BS is counted as being 1... Some weapon types, such as Template and Ordanance, or those that have certain special rules, such as Blast, cannot be fired as Snap Shots. It's important to note that any shooting attack that does not use BS... cannot be 'fired' as a Snap Shot.

Cheers,

6K, 7K, 5K, 8K, 7K 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Ohio

As far as the second question. If the deathray is a shooting attack, I don't see any reason it'd be exempt from the general LOS rule.

I suspect an argument could be made that the deathray isn't a shooting attack, but just an attack made during the shooting phase, in which case LOS doesn't matter.

All comes down to if the ray is a shooting attack or not.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is a shooting attack - it is described as a weapon, for a start.
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






There's both a LOS and a Allocating Wounds rule.

LOS (pg. 12) used to target the unit. There's is another "Out of Range" and "Out of Sight" rule when it comes to allocating wounds (pg. 16).

Assuming the Deathray is a shooting attack... I don't think the Deathray 'targets' a unit. I believe it picks a point on the field, then rolls dice to determine a direction of a 1mm wide path.

However, when you come to wound allocation, the new BRB says the firing unit cannot allocate wounds to models that no model in the firing unit cannot see.

So unless the Deathray is not a shooting attack, I think this is resolved...

6K, 7K, 5K, 8K, 7K 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




To hijack the thread then: What about Dark Eldar Voidraven bomber dropping void mines while shaken? This is done in the movement phase, and according to the rulebook doing so means you can use one less weapon in the shooting phase, but as far as we could tell it doesn't say that it actually counts as a shooting attack. Can the mine be dropped while only being allowed to Snap Fire?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 19:38:20


 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






@tgjensen:

Crew Shaken (pg. 74) says you may only fire Snap Shots (pg. 13).

Snap Shots says you may only use weapons requiring BS, your BS is lowered to 1 and you may not use templates, blasts, ordinance, salvo's etc... furthermore, it says you may not use any weapons which do not use BS.

Dropping a Bomb (pg 81) says:
"...unlike other weapons, bombs are used during Flyer's Movement phase in a special kind of attack... A Flyer can drop up to one bomb... If it does so, it counts as having already fired one weapon in its follwoing Shooting phase, however, any additional weapons it fires that turn can choose a different target to that of the bomb.

To make a Bombing Run, a Flyer must be Zooming. After the Flyer has finished moving, centre the bomb's blast marker on..."

+ + +

Thus, if a Flyer is subject to Crew Shaken, it must Snap Shot, and therefore, may only make non blast marker, BS1 attacks.

By my read, a Flyer would not be able to drop bombs if Crew Shaken.

Cheers,

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 19:53:06


6K, 7K, 5K, 8K, 7K 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. Dropping a bomb is still firing a weapon, just a very odd weapon.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: