Switch Theme:

Preferred enemy + Re-rolls.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader





Massachusetts

This came up in one of my games this weekend.

You have a Wolf Priest attached to a squad and one of the members of the squad is a Wolf Guard with a Wolf Claw. The Wolf Priest confers "Preferred Enemy (Infantry)" to the squad and allows them to re-roll any "to Hit" and "to Wound" rolls of 1. The Wolf Claw allows the wielder to choose to either re-roll "to Hit" or re-roll "to Wound".

So my question is, how do these two rules work together? Does the wolf guard model get to take two re-rolls or does he have to choose either the "preferred enemy" re-roll or the "wolf claw" re-roll?

We determined that the answer had to be one of the below. Either,

#1 : (Use one or the other, but not both) If the wolf guard player uses his wolf claw to re-roll "to Hit", then he can re-roll any to-Hit dice once and must accept the result. Then he can use preferred enemy to re-roll any "to Wound" dice rolls of 1.

Or,
#2 : (Use both re-rolls) If the wolf guard player uses his wolf claw to re-roll "to Hit", then he can re-roll any to-Hit dice. He may then re-roll any of those dice that come up with a 1. Then he can use preferred enemy to re-roll any "to Wound" dice rolls of 1.

Is it one of these, or is it something else? Go Dakka1

2500 pts

Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.



 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





Number 1, you can never re-roll a re roll
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

You are not allowed to re-roll a re-roll, so the second result always stands if you do choose to re-roll the 1st, in short they both confer the same effect (in a sense) so there would be little point taking both in the same unit.
   
Made in fr
Regular Dakkanaut




you can not reroll a reroll.

so either:
- wolf claw -> reroll to hit, then PE -> reroll to wound of 1.
or
- PE -> reroll to hit of 1, then wolf claw -> reroll to wound.

you can not reroll all, and then reroll again the dice that gave 1 in the reroll (not sure if this is very clear...).

 
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader





Massachusetts

Ok!

Thanks Dakka.

2500 pts

Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: