Switch Theme:

5th edition rules Skimers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





Hallo,
at the first I must say sorry about my english.
I have question to 5th rulebook (we have ordered the 6th edition yet ;-)). In 5th edition skimmers may fly in movement phase but in shooting phase or in closecombat phase they are on ground or in the air????
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Still in the air, not that it matters.
They're affected just like any other model.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





ok if they still in the air why I can charge body? and they can shoot from the air in shooting phase or fron the groud? because i can charge the body in assault phase or in shootin phase the same with the flamer i target the body on the ground and all other units on the ground and skimer is still in the air????
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





neuminic wrote:ok if they still in the air why I can charge body? and they can shoot from the air in shooting phase or fron the groud? because i can charge the body in assault phase or in shootin phase the same with the flamer i target the body on the ground and all other units on the ground and skimer is still in the air????

Because that's what the rules say.
The units aren't flying, they're skimming.
Just like all skimmers.
   
Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





OK and where is the poin of wiew in shooting phase (valkirie is about 4" above the ground)? the base is high and the viev is much better than on the ground. When i shoot to the skimmer vith the flamer it is on ground and for my other units is on the ground to?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You shoot from the model. As the rules tell you to (actually from the weapon, but close enough)

The rules are an abstraction. Deal with them.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

There is no such thing as flying in 5th ed.

No model is flying in the air.

They are set on their base when you deploy, and after you move them. then they are off the table a bit, but they are still resting on their base.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





DeathReaper wrote:There is no such thing as flying in 5th ed.

No model is flying in the air.

They are set on their base when you deploy, and after you move them. then they are off the table a bit, but they are still resting on their base.


ok then when they shooting It have the line of sight from the table (ok little bit skimming) not from the base (some 4" above the table)
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





neuminic wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:There is no such thing as flying in 5th ed.

No model is flying in the air.

They are set on their base when you deploy, and after you move them. then they are off the table a bit, but they are still resting on their base.


ok then when they shooting It have the line of sight from the table (ok little bit skimming) not from the base (some 4" above the table)

No, you always draw LoS and range from the gun - not from the base.

Are you sure you've read the rules for 5th edition vehicles? They're pretty clear on this stuff.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yeah, for shooting the vehicles weapons, measure from the actual weapons themselves.

For shooting at the vehicle, measure to the actual hull.


The base is only used for assault purposes, and is used in addition to the hull if its possable to hit both, and dismbarking in the case of the large oval bases with the tall flying stands.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




neuminic wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:There is no such thing as flying in 5th ed.

No model is flying in the air.

They are set on their base when you deploy, and after you move them. then they are off the table a bit, but they are still resting on their base.


ok then when they shooting It have the line of sight from the table (ok little bit skimming) not from the base (some 4" above the table)


No, it has LOS from the vehicle weapons, and the base is ON the table - the hull of the vehicle is probably what you meant there

You use the Hull and weapons for LOS and being shot at in return.
   
Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





Neuminic and me, trying to figure out how to correctly play skimmers (5th edition). If they are shooting, or enemy shoot at them, they are set on the table or they are set on bases?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Thumach wrote:Neuminic and me, trying to figure out how to correctly play skimmers (5th edition). If they are shooting, or enemy shoot at them, they are set on the table or they are set on bases?

Bases. You never, ever remove them from the base. Unless they're immobilized.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

They are always set on their bases, stem included, unless the skimmer is immobilized.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





OK if they set on the bases how can i charge the hull. when skimmer are not flyers and skimming bit over the table i cant use the model on the tall base (Valkirie) to declarate its line of sight?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

Don't have the rules in your language?

5e rules say you charge hull and base for skimmers, like DE raiders, SM land speeders, eldar WaveSerpents, etc.

Aren't there many 5e rule books available for sale, very cheap?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





neuminic wrote:OK if they set on the bases how can i charge the hull. when skimmer are not flyers and skimming bit over the table i cant use the model on the tall base (Valkirie) to declarate its line of sight?

You do use the model to declare line of sight.

As far as charging the hull - you're aware there's tall models like Trygons, right?
And if you're too close to a hill/ruins...
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

neuminic wrote:OK if they set on the bases how can i charge the hull.

Because the skimmer rules also cover models which are much lower to the table, like a Falcon on a low skimmer base. The skimmer rules specifically say you can either charge the hull (if you can reach it), or the base (if you can't reach the hull).
   
Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





ok rules say You may charge hull or base the same is with the shooting from flamers vhen the model became in shootin phase only skimming bit over the tabe than i can shoot him from flamer and charge but it have the tall valkyrie base about 4" tall than i can because Valkyrie is to far from me. Than valkirie is on its base in move but in shooting phase and in charge only skimming over ibt of the table?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

In the case of a flamer shooting a Valk, yeah, if you can't reach you can't reach. Why are you using a flamer against AV12 anyway?

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Flamestorm cannon and acid spray are S6 and could glance? Regardless, measure to the Hull for shooting measure to the hull or base if assaulting.
   
Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





chaos daemons have flamers of tzeench 4+ glance flamer temlpate
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: