Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 23:04:52
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I'm stumped on this one as to whether you can re-roll the dice for a charge sequentially, for a unit with fleet, or not. For example, say you roll a 1 and a 4 when you are trying to assault 7 inches. You re-roll just the 1, and get a 2, for a total of 6 inches, still falling short, can you then re-roll the 4? It seems to me like there's no rule explicitly stopping it, you aren't re-rolling a die that has already been re-rolled, and fleet doesn't say you have to do the re-rolls together, but I'm just curious what other people think of it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/01 23:05:22
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 00:21:15
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
Fredericton, NB
|
If you are required to reroll multiple dice (like an LD test or scatter) they must be rolled together.
|
Know thy self. Everything follows this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 00:43:17
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
Can i ask a very good question.... Why is your pic Matt Ward?
|
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 00:57:07
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Why not.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 01:23:42
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Lightcavalier wrote:If you are required to reroll multiple dice (like an LD test or scatter) they must be rolled together.
Yes, but to clarify you must choose how many you re-roll and re-roll them. You can't go back and decide to re-roll another one later.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 01:41:07
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Captain Antivas wrote:Lightcavalier wrote:If you are required to reroll multiple dice (like an LD test or scatter) they must be rolled together.
Yes, but to clarify you must choose how many you re-roll and re-roll them. You can't go back and decide to re-roll another one later.
Why not?
Where are these rules located, all I can find to that effect is the statement in the blast weapon rules mandating you re-roll distance and scatter direction together, not one or the other.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 01:55:20
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Just because it doesn't say you can't doesn't necessarily mean you can. I don't think you're going to get a lot of support here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 03:00:35
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
You are only allowed to re-roll dice once. As the dice for assualt are 3d6 you can only reroll a subset of those dice once. Rerolling one at a time would be 3 times 1D6, not a reroll of 3d6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 03:17:03
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Dozer Blades wrote:Just because it doesn't say you can't doesn't necessarily mean you can. I don't think you're going to get a lot of support here.
But it does say you can re-roll them, and doesn't say you have to re-roll them all at once, so why not, it doesn't say I can't is valid if you can show your permission, and I can Fleet says you are allowed to re-roll these dice.
Gloomfang wrote:You are only allowed to re-roll dice once. As the dice for assualt are 3d6 you can only reroll a subset of those dice once. Rerolling one at a time would be 3 times 1D6, not a reroll of 3d6.
the rule in question says specifically "no single dice can be re-rolled more than once" so your assertion that by rerolling a single dice out of a set you have completed all re-rolls allowed for that set isn't actually supported by the rules.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 03:25:13
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pg 5 "Re-roll" that paragraph..
Note that is says .. pick up the "dice" (plural) that you wish to reroll, and roll it again. The second roll counts......
So once you roll the second time, nothing past that point can/ will be used.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 03:27:54
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Fragile wrote:Pg 5 "Re-roll" that paragraph.. Note that is says .. pick up the "dice" (plural) that you wish to reroll, and roll it again. The second roll counts...... So once you roll the second time, nothing past that point can/ will be used. GW regularly use dice to refer to the singular too, in fact, their use of "it" rather than "them" indicates that in this example they are using the term to refer to a singular dice and further on in the exact paragraph you are citing they very clearly use dice to refer to the singular ("no single dice can be...") edit: also, it starts by talking about being allowed to "pick up and re-roll a dice." once again singular, the entire paragraph never seems to deal with dice as a plural.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/02 03:33:20
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 03:52:47
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ok, accepting that, "the second roll counts". So you can reroll them one at at time if you want, but only the second die roll will count when you roll your dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 03:57:14
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Fragile wrote:Pg 5 "Re-roll" that paragraph..
Note that is says .. pick up the "dice" (plural) that you wish to reroll, and roll it again. The second roll counts......
So once you roll the second time, nothing past that point can/ will be used.
GW regularly use dice to refer to the singular too, in fact, their use of "it" rather than "them" indicates that in this example they are using the term to refer to a singular dice and further on in the exact paragraph you are citing they very clearly use dice to refer to the singular ("no single dice can be...")
edit: also, it starts by talking about being allowed to "pick up and re-roll a dice." once again singular, the entire paragraph never seems to deal with dice as a plural.
Regardless of the plural the wording is still the same. "Pick up the dice that you wish to re-roll and roll it again. The second roll counts..." "...can re-roll one or more of the dice..." does not give you permission to re-roll each one it says you can do the re-roll step with one or more of the dice. "If you re-roll a single 2d6 or 3d6 roll, you must re-roll all of the dice and not just some of them, unless the rule granting the re-roll specifies otherwise." Also on page 5. The rule says you can choose to re-roll less than all of the dice rolled, but nowhere does it give you permission to do this step more than once.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 05:18:43
Subject: Can a unit with fleet re-roll it's assault range dice one at a time?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Captain Antivas wrote:Regardless of the plural the wording is still the same. "Pick up the dice that you wish to re-roll and roll it again. The second roll counts..." "...can re-roll one or more of the dice..." does not give you permission to re-roll each one it says you can do the re-roll step with one or more of the dice. "If you re-roll a single 2d6 or 3d6 roll, you must re-roll all of the dice and not just some of them, unless the rule granting the re-roll specifies otherwise." Also on page 5. The rule says you can choose to re-roll less than all of the dice rolled, but nowhere does it give you permission to do this step more than once. Right that makes sense, that in choosing to re-roll a single dice, you have expended the entirety of what Fleet granted you. Thanks, I was just looking for someone to provide adequate rules support for their claim that it didn't work.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/02 05:19:25
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|