Switch Theme:

Magma Cutter question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List





California, USA

So I might be missing something but i need a second opinion.

A Maulerfiend is equipped with TWO magma cutters. In the description for magma cutters it says if you hit with a attack you get a bonus attack with one of its magma cutters. It then says If you hit with all of your attacks it instead makes 2 additional attacks.

I expect it was intended to be a bonus 1 or 2 attacks total for the magma cutters. The verbage on the rules leads me to believe that it can be interpreted that since the maulerfiend has TWO magma cutters that it would recieve either 2 or 4 bonus attacks with them. Opinions?

The 6th Edition Leak Told You So Campaign: Real. 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Nope, you only get to make the attacks with "one of its magma cutters". I imagine it has two cutters for redundancy, in case one gets destroyed. It also makes the power fists less likely to be damaged from a Weapon Destroyed result.
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Well, this is indeed weird. In lasher tendrils it clearly tells us what one tendril does. What will one Magma Cutter do?

   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

one magna cutter does 1 S8 Ap1 attack.

It has 2 cutters.

If you hit with ONE normal attack, it uses ONE cutter. If you hit with ALL your attacks, you also hit with ALL (both) your cutters.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

 Praxiss wrote:
one magna cutter does 1 S8 Ap1 attack.

It has 2 cutters.

If you hit with ONE normal attack, it uses ONE cutter. If you hit with ALL your attacks, you also hit with ALL (both) your cutters.


This. Also magma cutters aren't really worth it unless you are going against vehicles since the attack is resolved against a model who was hit previously that would mean that it only works for models with T6+,EW, lucky Invul save or vehicles that didn't get destroyed.

Sadly facing a MC or a walker would probably see your Maulerfiend destroyed before you get to I1 step

CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




ATL, GA

 Lord Yayula wrote:
 Praxiss wrote:
one magna cutter does 1 S8 Ap1 attack.

It has 2 cutters.

If you hit with ONE normal attack, it uses ONE cutter. If you hit with ALL your attacks, you also hit with ALL (both) your cutters.


This. Also magma cutters aren't really worth it unless you are going against vehicles since the attack is resolved against a model who was hit previously that would mean that it only works for models with T6+,EW, lucky Invul save or vehicles that didn't get destroyed.

Sadly facing a MC or a walker would probably see your Maulerfiend destroyed before you get to I1 step


The maulerfiend should be I3 in most cases unless it charges through difficult terrain. Doesn't it count as a walker and therefore ignore the Unwieldy rule?

"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.

"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John

-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:

15 : 0 : 2 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The melta attacks happen at I1.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





GW is getting loose with its language again.

"...against one of the models it hit."

I understand (I think) the intent of the rule, but this is strangely worded.

Except in the case of single model units you dont roll to hit against models. You hit units. So do you resolve it against a model that rolled a save or took the wound?

How does it interact with Look Out Sir ? Say the wound would be allocated to a character but he passes his LOS! roll and another model takes the wound? Does the magma cutter hit the character or the model that took the wound?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/10 18:14:11


 
   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

Mmmm didn't think about the LoS interaction but for the rest yeah I'd assume the model that takes a wound/takes a save was the model who was hit by it, making it pretty selective against which targets the magma cutters would work.

CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

It sounds as if they were thinking along the lines of the Fiend punching a model to the ground, if it survives then the magna cutters would then chop them them up while they are down. Very cinematic.

presumably it works in peopels heads but doesn't translate well into actual rules.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Clarification here. The magma cutters are not actually close combat weapons, correct ?
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





It does not have the melee type in its profile.
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

they're nto listed as melee weapons but in their listign on page 68 it states they have a range of "-" - and they are only activated in the "Fight sub-phase".

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: