| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/21 20:10:31
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Stealthy Grot Snipa
|
Does anyone reckon that the dreadclaw was withdrawn because fw are going to bring out a new one since it was mentioned in the hh books?
|
Nurgle Daemons blog
http://nurglestally.blogspot.ie/
Chaos Dwarfs 8/5/1 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/21 20:16:23
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Iron Fang
|
Well it's stil listed so it's not technically unavailable but it is odd that it's actually out of stock. Granted I've never seen one in use so I don't know how popular it is.
It would be in my opinion unusual for Forgeworld to just remove it out of hand & replace it if that is the case though.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/21 20:51:17
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
United States
|
It's possible that they have to redo the molds and have listed it as Out of Stock until they've finished redoing them. They do this frequently. The Nurgle Dreadnought was out of stock for a while and then it came back.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/22 03:47:15
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. the dreadclaw STILL has awful rules (more expensive than a lucius pod, cannot turn up turn 1, no inertial guidance, models cannot assault straight out when it lands - so potentially turn 4 before you get to assault) so, while i have one it only gets used in games for giggles.
The mold is likely being redone
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 20:09:59
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: the dreadclaw STILL has awful rules (more expensive than a lucius pod, cannot turn up turn 1, no inertial guidance, models cannot assault straight out when it lands - so potentially turn 4 before you get to assault) so, while i have one it only gets used in games for giggles.
USED TO. 6e update gave it assault vehicle. It's now a 65pt flyer you can assault out of. So it's not just a drop pod anymore; it's a flying transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 03:48:36
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bzzzt, nope, it was open topped for disembarking previously, so you coudl assault out of it
If models are transported it must enter via DS, so the turn it enters play you CANNOT assault
If it wants to move as a flyer you cannot disembark
At best you get to move 6" and disembark - hence why you may not turn up until turn 4, then turn 5 you get to assault. If anything is still within 12" of the dreadclaw, of course.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 09:17:05
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Bzzzt, nope, it was open topped for disembarking previously, so you coudl assault out of it
If models are transported it must enter via DS, so the turn it enters play you CANNOT assault
Ordinarily, yes. Except that the ASSAULT VEHICLE special rule overrides the DS rule and allows for assault with any disembarkation - even an emergency disembarkation. You'll have a hard time arguing against RAW on that one. Especially since the Lucius Pattern Drop Pod already contradicts this rule, as does Heroic Intervention - precedent that special rules can override the no assault on DS rule. Unless there is a 6e FAQ I haven't seen addressing the matter, the FW 6e update allows you to assault from DS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 11:48:11
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Massawyrm wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Bzzzt, nope, it was open topped for disembarking previously, so you coudl assault out of it
If models are transported it must enter via DS, so the turn it enters play you CANNOT assault
Ordinarily, yes. Except that the ASSAULT VEHICLE special rule overrides the DS rule and allows for assault with any disembarkation - even an emergency disembarkation. You'll have a hard time arguing against RAW on that one. Especially since the Lucius Pattern Drop Pod already contradicts this rule, as does Heroic Intervention - precedent that special rules can override the no assault on DS rule. Unless there is a 6e FAQ I haven't seen addressing the matter, the FW 6e update allows you to assault from DS.
Nope. Assault Vehicle only allows you to charge despite disembarking, it does nothing to allow you to charge after Deep Striking. Vanguard Veterans and Lucius Pattern pods work because they explicitly say you can assault after Deep Striking.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 12:04:13
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Massawyrm wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Bzzzt, nope, it was open topped for disembarking previously, so you coudl assault out of it
If models are transported it must enter via DS, so the turn it enters play you CANNOT assault
Ordinarily, yes. Except that the ASSAULT VEHICLE special rule overrides the DS rule and allows for assault with any disembarkation - even an emergency disembarkation. You'll have a hard time arguing against RAW on that one. Especially since the Lucius Pattern Drop Pod already contradicts this rule, as does Heroic Intervention - precedent that special rules can override the no assault on DS rule. Unless there is a 6e FAQ I haven't seen addressing the matter, the FW 6e update allows you to assault from DS.
So a DS land raider can let models assault?
Wrong
1) You cannot assault from reserves unless explicitly told otherwise. Assault vehicle does not explicitly state otherwise
2) You cannot assault when DS, unless you have a rule explicitly telling you otherwise. Assault vehicle does not explicitly state otherwise
You are wrong for 2 reasons. Lucius DP explicitly allows you to assault the turn you arrive and despite DS. VV do the same. RAW you are wrong, and they STILL cannot get decent rules for them. More points and not as good as a lucius? Sucks
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/27 12:04:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 12:24:19
Subject: Re:FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
They're as expensive as Lucius Pods, not more.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 13:42:55
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Thought lucius were 50pts, with claws 65? TBH i still dont really care about the points, i would just like a reason to use them in rules, not just because the model is awesome!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 22:03:33
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Turns out I am in fact wrong. The latest FAQ (FAQ 1.1) states expressly that Assault Vehicle does not allow you to assault from reserves. The Dreadclaw does still suck.
(Sadly puts Dreadclaw model back on the dusty part of the shelf)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 22:59:55
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, the FAQ just repeated the rules that already existed - namely specific beats general, and Assault vehicle is not more specific than the Reserve OR Deep Strike rules
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/28 01:17:05
Subject: FW dreadclaw
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Also, Dreadclaws are now 85pts, as per IA: Aeronautica.
I still think they aren't that bad, I used one a few times under the old Chaos codex with pretty good success by stuffing one with Zhufor and 3 Obliterators (though probably only because none of my opponents had any good AA weaponry). When they arrive, just move them Flat Out and Evade if shot at for the 4+ jink save. Doing so means you don't have to land too close to the enemy, so the lack of Inertial Guidance isn't so bad. Then, in the following turn, you can still move 6", disembark 2" (because of the Dreadclaw's rules...) and still assault.
That said, they fill up a valuable FA slot, and it's still a turn 3 charge at best. But still, you've got a pretty decent chance of getting to the enemy without taking damage, unless they have loaded up on Skyfire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|