Switch Theme:

Noobs question about Necron Eternity gate  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Salisbury

When using the Monoliths Eternity gate as a Dimensional Corridor, the book states that you can ‘disembark’ any non-vehicle unit from the battlefield or reserve.
But, when it says reserve, does it mean ‘available to deploy this turn’ or anything in reserve at all?
Cheers

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/05 16:23:51


CLACKAVOID (n.) Technical BBC term for a page of dialogue from Blake's Seven.
 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Anything from reserves at all, whether it passed its roll or not.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Salisbury

um joy!

CLACKAVOID (n.) Technical BBC term for a page of dialogue from Blake's Seven.
 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

Really?!

So if i roll for resevers and fail, i can basically say "screw it" and bring them on the the 'liths portal anyway?!

That is almost enough to make me want to use my monolith again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/05 17:04:29


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Horrific Horror





Southern Oregon

The Monolith Gate is an incredibly powerful tool for Necrons, especially for slower units like Lychguard that will have trouble getting across the table otherwise.

4500pts

3000 points under construction
Necron Hello Kitty Project Log:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/420760.page 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Yeah, I miss being able to charge stuff out of it.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Praxiss wrote:
Really?!

So if i roll for resevers and fail, i can basically say "screw it" and bring them on the the 'liths portal anyway?!

That is almost enough to make me want to use my monolith again.


Yup, the rule does say you nominate a unit on the battlefield or in reserves. Nothing in that rule says they must have passed any kind of roll to arrive or anything.

I think I too overlooked this tidbit. Great little nugget of information here.
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

Also great to bring in units in Reserve on Turn 1 provided the Monolith is on the table.

Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Salisbury

Was thinking of keeping most of the force off the table, then dropping a couple of liths in and pouring out the fun, probably 12 wraiths take that tau gun line

CLACKAVOID (n.) Technical BBC term for a page of dialogue from Blake's Seven.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

They are still counted as arriving from reserve, and the monolith makes no mention of being able to assault out of em. So shooting units are better off making use of the Monoliths.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/07 19:55:35


Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Akar, it counts as disembarking, so no assaulting.

It's a quality C'Tan delivery mechanism though.
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

 loreweaver wrote:
Akar, it counts as disembarking, so no assaulting.

It's a quality C'Tan delivery mechanism though.


Is not a C'tan Shard a Monstrous Creature? I thought only Infantry models can be transported. Unless specifically specified otherwise? Am I missing something here?

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Monolith doesn't transport anything. You merely pick any non-vehicle unit on the table and have it "disembark" from the monolith.
   
Made in us
Powerful Chaos Warrior





Georgia, U.S.A.

Yes, it is a portal and IIRC in the FAQ it states that you cannot assault out of the 'lith, just like coming from a Drop Pod. It is a great to Deep Strike your 'lith into the enemy back line (if you get the reserve roll) or just charge it across the table and then start pouring your warriors out, also get the night sythe and eternity gate them behind enemy lines with that ....it's just evil, evil, evil but soooo much fun!!!!

RxGhost wrote:Twilight doesn't have vampires.

If you frolic in the forest and sparkle in the sun you are a FAIRY, not a VAMPIRE.



Mortality is for those who are to afraid to be great!!

2500pts Oruscar Dynasty-The re-awakening has come
1500pts Angels Sanguine
Newly started WoC Army  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Here's a kicker question though - the Dimensional Corridor states "Necron Unit". Now I play it that means any (non-vehicle) unit in the codex, however I've always wondered if only those with "Necron" in their name/unit compisition could be teleported. I only wonder because the codex does go to great lengths to make sure you know that "Necron" and "Canoptek" are not the same thing.

Even with Flayed ones and Praetorians and Lychguard the fluff seems to imply they are not "necron".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/07 23:25:52


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Based on the Tau codex (yes I know it is old), if they wanted only those that are Necrons (from a fluff standpoint) it would read something like "The Dimensional Corridor can teleport any Necron unit (not including C'Tan Shards, Canoptek Spiders, Canoptek Wraiths, etc)."

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Happyjew wrote:
Based on the Tau codex (yes I know it is old), if they wanted only those that are Necrons (from a fluff standpoint) it would read something like "The Dimensional Corridor can teleport any Necron unit (not including C'Tan Shards, Canoptek Spiders, Canoptek Wraiths, etc)."


Oh more than likely, I agree. And like I said, I don't play it that way and I know they added that bit so (in preparation of 6th) you can't teleport ally units, but it still always just tugged at my shoulder as a "I wonder..." thought.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/08 00:03:39


 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

 loreweaver wrote:
Monolith doesn't transport anything. You merely pick any non-vehicle unit on the table and have it "disembark" from the monolith.

After actually looking at the Necron codex, yes you are correct. With them using the word 'disembark' I was... confused, and made an assumption.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: