Switch Theme:

Deep striking Mishaps  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




This thread is to help confirm my suspicions about deep strike mishap. Yes it is less harsh as only a roll of 1 will destroy the unit but being placed by the opponent can be much worse. But to the point everyone in my local games store has been doing the same thing for deep striking units if it hits any models or comes within an inch of enemy models or hits impassable terrain roll on the mishap. But you see what does count as "terrain" on the table. Lets say I scatter into a crater that would be dangerous terrain to the units but they STILL land and get to come on. But let's say a barricade. I scatter "into" the barricade does this mean I get to place them and take the dangerous terrain test? Or since it is technically inside the piece it would be as if it was impassable terrain to the unit. Also if I have scattered near a piece of difffucult terrain do the models that have to be in base contact land in it get to come down ? I assume it would be the same as whether they can come down or not with the initial model.

Secondly with measuring how far an initial DS model scatters would you move it as if you we're moving in the movement phase or the centre or the edge of the base? E.g. I line up the measuring stick with the direction faced add up the total then move from the front of the model to the end of where the distance is? Or move it from the middle or move it from the front to the bac

Sorry if I don't explain this well I'm quite tired

You fool me once I'm mad.
You fool me twice, I don't really like you.
You fool me three times, your officially that guy.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Impassable Terrain is a classification for terrain that you agree on before the game starts. Terrain does not become impassable when you Deepstrike, it IS impassable or isnt before the game starts.

Scattering the model is not movement, as the unit has not yet arrived.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






When measuring scattering distance, use the same reference point. So either centre of base to centre of base, or edge of base to edge of base, exactly as described in the bottom left of page 10 of the rulebook.

Barricades would be difficult terrain (and thus Dangerous to DS'ers) but not impassable. As obviously it would be hard to actually place the model ontop of the barricade, use the rules for Wobbly Model Syndrome on page 11.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

If I understand what you're asking correctly, I'll try to answer the questions.

1. What constitutes terrain for the purposes of a deep strike mishap?
If they cannot all be deployed without going off the table, into impassible terrain, or within 1" of an enemy model.

Impassible terrain is whatever you define is impassible pre-game.

2. How do you measure the scatter?

Place the initial model. Move it in the direction indicated by the amount rolled, measure as normal (front to front/center to center/back to back, as long as you're consistant it's not important.). Then deploy the unit around the initial model (Bearing in mind that even if the first model is safe, the rest of the unit could still trigger a mishap)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/17 11:11:52


If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Thank you I can now tell my main opponents that he is wrong and be all like no. But you can't put it dere... NO >

You fool me once I'm mad.
You fool me twice, I don't really like you.
You fool me three times, your officially that guy.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: