Switch Theme:

Doubly Blessed & Dropping for Reward 0  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello Dakkadakka!

Me and a few friends came into a rules question. On page 66 & 67 of the Chaos Daemon rule book with Exalted Rewards if you roll a doubly blessed you get to roll again and gain 1 more reward. Once all the characters rewards are determined he can choose to swap.

So the question simply is does the player have to choose to swap when he rolls the 1, or does he get to roll again with the extra reward, then get to choose to swap?

Sorry if this was already posted, tried a quick search and could not find it.

Thanks!

Sorry, quick clarification. lets say we roll on the table, and get doubly blessed. At that moment do we have to pick to drop it for the 0 ability. Or do I get to roll again, and then pick to drop one of the two I just got?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/21 22:54:50


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If you roll a duplicate result you re-roll. After you have made all your rolls then you decide to make the swap.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Happyjew is correct.

Read the section above the rewards. It tells you how to roll the rewards if you have more than one from the same table. (Note that it is different from rolling BRB psychic powers.)

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the responses guys. But the question wasn't about rerolls for abilities, or how rolling a 1, Doubly Blessed worked.

It was more about exactly when does the words "after gifts have been determined" means. I roll on the chart, roll a 1, do I then have to pick that the Doubly Blessed is what I stick with, or choose to swap it out. Or can I choose to swap the powers after I roll doubly blessed, and roll the two more blessings from that ability?

Essentially is it...

Roll -> Get Doubly Blessed -> Choose to drop it for 0 Power.

or

Roll -> Get Doubly Blessed -> Roll the 2 new powers -> Choose if I want to drop 1 for 0 Power, and keep the other one.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




At the point at which you roll D.B. you havent determined *all* gifts, so you cannot drop to 0 yet
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

If you have two Rewards:

Roll a 1 for first reward. Roll a 1 for second; re-roll since you already rolled a 1; roll a 3 for second. Now choose to substitute #0 for either #1 or #3.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

So I got a helpful PM from the OP, and I think I understand his question better now. But I thought I'd respond here to keep others in the conversation.

The question is about the Exalted Reward #1, "Doubly Blessed." If you roll a #1, you get an Exalted Reward (re-rolling more 1s) and a Lesser Reward.

Can you swap the new Exalted Reward for a #0 (Artefact) and keep the Lesser Reward, or must you swap the #1 before rolling for what it entails?

The relevant rule: "Once all a character's rewards are determined, he can choose to swap a single reward for the result 0 on the relevant table."

I would say that you get to keep the bonus Lesser Reward. Getting #1 adds a Lesser Reward roll to your model. This does not prevent you from swapping your new Exalted Reward result (#2-6) for the Artefact (#0).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/24 05:30:28


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Until you roll for all the gifts, you havent rolled for all the gifts so cannot swap
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: