Switch Theme:

casting buffs while in a vehicle  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

I remember the last Eldar FAQ had it so a farseer cannot cast buffs on units outside of his wave serpent. Well that is no longer there now. Does that mean you can once again buff from inside a tank?

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in gb
World-Weary Pathfinder






No, because the rulebook requires LoS for psychic powers and Wave Serpents and Falcons do not have Firepoints. You can however cast on himself/his unit or on the vehicle they are embarked upon.

Ulthwé Eldar 2.5k points and growing! 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Farseer_Kaiser wrote:
No, because the rulebook requires LoS for psychic powers and Wave Serpents and Falcons do not have Firepoints. You can however cast on himself/his unit or on the vehicle they are embarked upon.


And even if they did have firepoints, you still couldn't use them for Blessings/Maledictions, so you still couldn't buff from inside a metal box.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

The powers like divination generally say "blessing that targets a single friendly unit within 12'" etc.

That means the same as:

Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest powers
that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically
allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.

?



How about if you are inside a building? Does it count as a transport?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 10:07:22


+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 sudojoe wrote:
The powers like divination generally say "blessing that targets a single friendly unit within 12'" etc.


All Psychic powers need Line of Sight to their target If a psyker is embarked on a transport you can not draw line of sight to any unit outside the transport. (Page 67).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 15:16:55


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Actually, the BRB says that while embarked on transport you may only cast blessings that target the embarked unit. Making the FAQ completely useless anyway as it was already spelled out
   
Made in us
Wraith






I, for one, hate that rule... if I can shoot out the hatch, and that requires LoS, why can't I cast powers that ALSO require LoS.

Stupid.

But nope, gotta get out of your sweet ride to cast powers like that.

Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Agree with you there Kbob, it is one of the many illogical rules you can find.

Oh, and you can't just get out to cast the ability either. It has to be done at the beginning of the movement phase. If you move the model to disembark, or any model for any reason, then it can't really be argued that you are still in the 'beginning of the move phase' requirements to cast.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/08 23:13:52


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: