Switch Theme:

Eldar quicken psyker power- does it stack with itself?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon






Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/29 23:41:01


 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Razgriz22 wrote:
Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?


short answer: No, only different powers stack.

Long answer look for the enfeeble thread.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Short answer yes they stack. Or no they don't.

Long answer follow Sirlynchmobs advice.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

sirlynchmob wrote:
 Razgriz22 wrote:
Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?


short answer: No, only different powers stack.

Long answer look for the enfeeble thread.


There is no rule in the rulebook that states that only different powers can stack. The ambiguity of whether Enfeeble stacks or not is doe to the "Whilst the power is in effect" wording, which Quicken shares. So no one knows for certain whether it's supposed to be able to stack with itself or not.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




In the poll, the "no" side won

51% to 49% is still a win.

So talk about it with your group or TO, and slowly back away from this thread as it's probably going to go down hill from here

 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

 PrinceRaven wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
 Razgriz22 wrote:
Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?


short answer: No, only different powers stack.

Long answer look for the enfeeble thread.


There is no rule in the rulebook that states that only different powers can stack. The ambiguity of whether Enfeeble stacks or not is doe to the "Whilst the power is in effect" wording, which Quicken shares. So no one knows for certain whether it's supposed to be able to stack with itself or not.


Wrong. The rulebook explicitly says the same power doesn't stack. The ambiguity comes from what 'different' means.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

rollawaythestone wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
 Razgriz22 wrote:
Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?


short answer: No, only different powers stack.

Long answer look for the enfeeble thread.


There is no rule in the rulebook that states that only different powers can stack. The ambiguity of whether Enfeeble stacks or not is doe to the "Whilst the power is in effect" wording, which Quicken shares. So no one knows for certain whether it's supposed to be able to stack with itself or not.


Wrong. The rulebook explicitly says the same power doesn't stack. The ambiguity comes from what 'different' means.


Quote and page number.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





rollawaythestone wrote:
Wrong. The rulebook explicitly says the same power doesn't stack.

Perhaps you have a different definition of the word "explicit".
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




sirlynchmob wrote:
 Razgriz22 wrote:
Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?


short answer: No, only different powers stack.

Long answer look for the enfeeble thread.


No such rule as the bolded actually exists in the rulebook. As per the tenets of the forum please back up your assertion with a rulebook page and paragraph, or retract it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/30 17:26:12


 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




nosferatu1001 wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
 Razgriz22 wrote:
Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?


short answer: No, only different powers stack.

Long answer look for the enfeeble thread.


No such rule as the bolded actually exists in the rulebook. As per the tenets of the forum please back up your assertion with a rulebook page and paragraph, or retract it.


Yep, called it.

Your side lost the vote, just accept it and the majority of the people on dakka read it that way. so maybe during the next poll you should make a better case.
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




sirlynchmob wrote:
Yep, called it.

Your side lost the vote, just accept it and the majority of the people on dakka read it that way. so maybe during the next poll you should make a better case.


1) Argue the point. Either the rules support you, or they don't.
2) People (as a collective) can be wrong
3) It seemed quite strange to me that a poll that was at >60% in favor of stacking after over a month managed to flip to 49%/51% in just a few days.
4) You're talking about a 2 vote difference out of 249 and claiming moral high ground. I mean, how pedantic can you get?
5) Argue the point. Either the rules support you, or they don't.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




Quark wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
Yep, called it.

Your side lost the vote, just accept it and the majority of the people on dakka read it that way. so maybe during the next poll you should make a better case.


1) Argue the point. Either the rules support you, or they don't.
2) People (as a collective) can be wrong
3) It seemed quite strange to me that a poll that was at >60% in favor of stacking after over a month managed to flip to 49%/51% in just a few days.
4) You're talking about a 2 vote difference out of 249 and claiming moral high ground. I mean, how pedantic can you get?
5) Argue the point. Either the rules support you, or they don't.


1, the point has been argued to death already, go read the other 20 threads on the subject.
2, and people in the minority can be just as wrong
3, demand a recount then
4, a smaller win without even a majority put bush jr into office. A win is a win.
5, see 1

Do we really need to have this debate again? there is no clear RAW that the stacking side will accept. And if the stacking side had a point the result wouldn't have been that close. So play it like you want til we see a FAQ. I say the stacking side is clearly wrong as they could never quote a rule in the psychic rules section to prove their point and spend the entire debate saying how the rules for psychic powers don't apply. I mean really it says 5 times that different powers are cumulative without ever hinting at the same power is cumulative. And even now, the entire front page, does anyone from the stacking side make a point as to why their right? Nope, the best they can do is say the non stacking side is wrong, arguing semantics instead of making a point. Where are your rules to support your opinion? how pedantic can you get, criticizing others for what you fail to do.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




sirlynchmob wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
 Razgriz22 wrote:
Successfully casting quicken allows you to run an additional +3 inches. Does this stack with itself upon successful castings from separate psykers in the same unit?


short answer: No, only different powers stack.

Long answer look for the enfeeble thread.


No such rule as the bolded actually exists in the rulebook. As per the tenets of the forum please back up your assertion with a rulebook page and paragraph, or retract it.


Yep, called it.

Your side lost the vote, just accept it and the majority of the people on dakka read it that way. so maybe during the next poll you should make a better case.

So you refuse to follow the tenets of the forum you are posting in?

Cite your source for the underlined "rule" you are quoting, or retract it. Now.
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

I wondered how long it would be before this would come up again
Agreed with many posters above. There is no RAW to support it not stacking, so it stacks, as you have permission to cast the power and resolve it.
sirlynchmob: As others have said, back up your assertion with a rules quote or retract it as per the tenets.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




Tactical_Genius wrote:
I wondered how long it would be before this would come up again
Agreed with many posters above. There is no RAW to support it not stacking, so it stacks, as you have permission to cast the power and resolve it.
sirlynchmob: As others have said, back up your assertion with a rules quote or retract it as per the tenets.


says the one who makes a "well the rules don't say I can't" argument with no rules quotes.

pg 66-69 if different powers have permission to stack, and only different powers have permission, then saying the same power is cumulative is wrong.

As RAW is "unclear"? and 51% of dakkians agree they don't stack. at a minimum RAI only different powers stack. Even though there are 5 rules between 66-69 that clearly say different powers stack with no allowance for all powers to stack, or the same power to stack.

And again we see the "stacking" side failing to make any RAW arguments as to why they stack. If it was so clear that they do, then why can't anyone show where they do?


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

Sirlynchmob, I have to agree with the Quark and nosferatu1001. You do have to back up your arguments with actual rules, not poll results.

Please stop arguing simply because others disagree with how you think the game should be played.

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

sirlynchmob wrote:
Tactical_Genius wrote:
I wondered how long it would be before this would come up again
Agreed with many posters above. There is no RAW to support it not stacking, so it stacks, as you have permission to cast the power and resolve it.
sirlynchmob: As others have said, back up your assertion with a rules quote or retract it as per the tenets.


says the one who makes a "well the rules don't say I can't" argument with no rules quotes.

pg 66-69 if different powers have permission to stack, and only different powers have permission, then saying the same power is cumulative is wrong.

As RAW is "unclear"? and 51% of dakkians agree they don't stack. at a minimum RAI only different powers stack. Even though there are 5 rules between 66-69 that clearly say different powers stack with no allowance for all powers to stack, or the same power to stack.

And again we see the "stacking" side failing to make any RAW arguments as to why they stack. If it was so clear that they do, then why can't anyone show where they do?


If you looked you would have seen the rules argument in my post.
I have permission to cast the power.
I have permission to apply it's effects.
There is no restriction.

You must provide the restriction. You have failed to do so.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Essentially the RaW is they don't stack because the power has the wording "whilst the power is in effect x happens" multiple manifestations of the power still result in the power being in effect so x happens. Not multiple times so nothing to stack.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




sirlynchmob wrote:
Tactical_Genius wrote:
I wondered how long it would be before this would come up again
Agreed with many posters above. There is no RAW to support it not stacking, so it stacks, as you have permission to cast the power and resolve it.
sirlynchmob: As others have said, back up your assertion with a rules quote or retract it as per the tenets.


says the one who makes a "well the rules don't say I can't" argument with no rules quotes.

pg 66-69 if different powers have permission to stack, and only different powers have permission, then saying the same power is cumulative is wrong.

As RAW is "unclear"? and 51% of dakkians agree they don't stack. at a minimum RAI only different powers stack. Even though there are 5 rules between 66-69 that clearly say different powers stack with no allowance for all powers to stack, or the same power to stack.

And again we see the "stacking" side failing to make any RAW arguments as to why they stack. If it was so clear that they do, then why can't anyone show where they do?



And how many people thought FNP stopped ID? Your poll means nothing. and 51% of Dakkians do not agree. Only those who felt compelled to answer that poll agree. Thousands of other Dakkians didnt care one way or another.

Argue the points and put your poll away.
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

No need to get into this again, we can argue about it for an additional 30 pages and not get anywhere

OP, your best bet is to dicuss with you group or TO, evently stricly RAW theres 3 o 4 theories. So yeah.

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




sirlynchmob wrote:
Tactical_Genius wrote:
I wondered how long it would be before this would come up again
Agreed with many posters above. There is no RAW to support it not stacking, so it stacks, as you have permission to cast the power and resolve it.
sirlynchmob: As others have said, back up your assertion with a rules quote or retract it as per the tenets.


says the one who makes a "well the rules don't say I can't" argument with no rules quotes.

pg 66-69 if different powers have permission to stack, and only different powers have permission, then saying the same power is cumulative is wrong.

As RAW is "unclear"? and 51% of dakkians agree they don't stack. at a minimum RAI only different powers stack. Even though there are 5 rules between 66-69 that clearly say different powers stack with no allowance for all powers to stack, or the same power to stack.

And again we see the "stacking" side failing to make any RAW arguments as to why they stack. If it was so clear that they do, then why can't anyone show where they do?


Nope, the rules permission was given, and you cannot find the rules quote you stated in your first post. Therefore I assume you are making a "HIWPI" argument, and not one based on rules

As so please mark your argument as such, so people dont mistake it for an argument based on the rules of wh40k.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

 FlingitNow wrote:
Essentially the RaW is they don't stack because the power has the wording "whilst the power is in effect x happens" multiple manifestations of the power still result in the power being in effect so x happens. Not multiple times so nothing to stack.


This is the reason why Quicken/Enfeeble may or may not stack, depending on whether "the power" refers to that iteration of Quicken/Enfeeble or the power as a whole, and we have no way of knowing which it means until an FAQ is released to clarify it.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: