Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/31 03:28:26
Subject: Null deployment... Sure theirs already a thread
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Well as title states, is it possible to have a null deployment? With drop pods?
I've always thought tht at any time with no units on table you lose... Then heard on a forum hear that's not true.
Can I please have quote/page reference/ personnel advise about this?
I'm sure theirs already a forum about this somewhere, and if so... Please just give me a link or something.
Thanks,
Ninja
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/31 03:34:55
Subject: Null deployment... Sure theirs already a thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
This is only checked at the end of a game turn. As long as you have something arrive from reserve on turn 1 (usually only possible with special rules like drop pods) you're fine.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/31 05:34:03
Subject: Re:Null deployment... Sure theirs already a thread
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Without having the book handy, going by memory... I *think* the rule is on page 121. In any case it's on the same page as victory conditions in general, so if you look up "victory conditions" or "victory points" in the index, you'll find it there.
Peregrine's correct - you automatically lose if you have no models on the board at the end of the game turn. Thanks to Reserves normally coming in on turn 2 at the earliest, this is usually only possible to do without losing when using Drop Pods and Deathwing Assault. But you also want to be careful that you don't deploy so little on the board that you can get easily blasted off in the first turn... this is a particular danger with smaller elite-style armies who can get away with just a couple of units and still meet the 50% Reserves limit.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/31 08:49:52
Subject: Null deployment... Sure theirs already a thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Not a bad memory there Super ready as you where only off by 1, Victory conditions are on page 122 and the rule is within.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/31 08:51:42
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/01 20:54:54
Subject: Null deployment... Sure theirs already a thread
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Ok thanks guys that's really helpfull
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/02 16:42:31
Subject: Null deployment... Sure theirs already a thread
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
London, UK
|
BRB FAQ (last page) wrote:
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/03 01:56:36
Subject: Null deployment... Sure theirs already a thread
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Now that everything's been answered, can the title of this thread be changed?
It's "there's" not "theirs".
For some reason it's bothering me more than it should....
|
|
 |
 |
|