Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/16 23:36:38
Subject: White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
|
I don't know if this has been asked before, but here goes.
Using khan as warlord provides all bikers and units within transports to have "outflank", so, does this also work for white scars stormravens?
So therefore could I outflank stormravens from left and/or right board edges, dependant upon dice rolls, rather than just my own board edge?
Or are flyers exempt from outflank/scout manoeuvres?
|
Brotherhood of the Damned 20,580
Nids 1,900
5,800
I am the Beard and I'm..........*whispers* Awesome |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/16 23:42:54
Subject: White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Kelne
|
Re-read khan's special rule. A stormraven can't fit either criteria to get the Scout USR. Thus no outflanking SR
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/16 23:47:43
Subject: Re:White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
|
"Friendly models with chapter tactics.....with a dedicated transport..." - nothing about not taking a stormravens as one can be taken as a transport for certain units
|
Brotherhood of the Damned 20,580
Nids 1,900
5,800
I am the Beard and I'm..........*whispers* Awesome |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/16 23:55:43
Subject: White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Kelne
|
You've got everything you need in that quote though.
A stormraven can't be a Dedicated transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 00:03:42
Subject: Re:White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
|
Off the back of your comment, just checked the profiles for each unit, no units states they can take a stormravens as a transport, and yet the stormravens has transport capacity.....typo?
It does state under the stormravens page that they can carry units. So I'm not quite sure where this leave the original question
|
Brotherhood of the Damned 20,580
Nids 1,900
5,800
I am the Beard and I'm..........*whispers* Awesome |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 00:06:07
Subject: White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Dedicated transport is not the same as a transport. You should check page 78 - 80 of the brb.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 00:07:19
Subject: White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Kelne
|
No typos. Try reading the Transport page in the main rulebook.
Several units taken by themselves are a transport.
Others can only be taken as the Dedicated transport for another unit (for example a drop pod or a rhino).
Some can be one or the other, a land raider for example can be taken a heavy support choice or as a dedicated transport for a terminator squad (amongst others).
A stormraven is a transport, but not a dedicated transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 00:07:30
Subject: Re:White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Beard wrote:Off the back of your comment, just checked the profiles for each unit, no units states they can take a stormravens as a transport, and yet the stormravens has transport capacity.....typo?
It does state under the stormravens page that they can carry units. So I'm not quite sure where this leave the original question
A Transport doesn't have to be dedicated to be a transport. The only difference typically between a Transport and a Dedicated Transport is who can start the game embarked in them (Transport = anyone, Dedicated Transport = only the unit that bought it plus attached IC's). A Stormraven is a Transport, but as no unit can buy it as a Dedicated Transport it is never a Dedicated Transport. Khan's rule applies only to Dedicated Transports.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 00:08:33
Subject: Re:White scars, khan and scout!
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
|
Ah right, thanks
|
Brotherhood of the Damned 20,580
Nids 1,900
5,800
I am the Beard and I'm..........*whispers* Awesome |
|
 |
 |
|