Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 15:55:09
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I am building an all terminator DA army to represent a crucial point in my chapters history. For allies I believe I have 2 choices:
1. Grey Knights Librarian and GK Terminator squad
2. Tyberos the Red Wake and LC assault squad
Here are my questions:
1. Tyberos' rules say if he is included that a single squad of LC termies become troops, is this primary detachment only?
2. If Tyberos is included in an army, he is your warlord, is this primary detachment only?
I know this is the rules forum but if you would also suggest which ally may be better that would be awesome.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/12 15:56:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 16:25:19
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) Does it state it is primary detachment only?
2) Only a character from your primary detachment can be your warlord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 16:49:43
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 19:09:12
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
kingleir wrote:I am building an all terminator DA army to represent a crucial point in my chapters history. For allies I believe I have 2 choices:
1. Grey Knights Librarian and GK Terminator squad
2. Tyberos the Red Wake and LC assault squad
Here are my questions:
1. Tyberos' rules say if he is included that a single squad of LC termies become troops, is this primary detachment only?
2. If Tyberos is included in an army, he is your warlord, is this primary detachment only?
I know this is the rules forum but if you would also suggest which ally may be better that would be awesome.
1) He just has to be in the army, so he can be in any detachment. The "Terminator Assault squad entirely armed with lightning claws" can also be in any detachment with the way FW worded this, so they don't have to be in Tyberos's detachment.
2) This is an interesting question.
a)I looked in the BRB and FAQ, and I'm sure I'm just not seeing it, where does it say the warlord has to be in the primary detachment?
b)We know its possible for a codex to make a non-primary detachment warlord a thing. Codex inquisition does it clearly.
c)I think RAW Tyberos needs to be your warlord regardless of what detachment he is in, but its not how I expect it to be played.
edit: Found it, pg 109 of the BRB says the warlord must come from a primary detachment. So we have two things that MUST happen. When Tyberos is in an allied detachment these two things present a conflict. Per page 7 of the BRB Tyberos's rule should take precedent.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/12 21:00:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 21:35:53
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Seems to me that if you are taking Tyberos then the Carcharodons must be the primary detachment.
Why? because the warlord must come from the primary detachment AND Tyberos' rules say he must be the warlord. Ergo, Carcharodons have to be the primary detachment to satisfy all of the conditions.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 22:13:08
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I think ill stick to grey knights for now...atleast until faq'd.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 22:20:46
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
I think that's how I'd play it too, Clively. Seems fair.
If someone REALLY wanted to take him as an ally, I don't really have strong opinions enough to deny that, but I think I'd at least say the Red Brethren would also have to be in the Carcharodons detachment. Considering they couldn't be scoring units (Carcharodons treat all allies they can even take as Desperate Allies), it being a troop rather than an Elite won't make too much difference. Automatically Appended Next Post: @Kingleir:
Just ask Forgeworld directly. If you shoot them rules inquiries, they tend to respond in a pretty timely manner. GW proper could learn a thing or two from Forgeworld's customer service department.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/12 22:25:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/13 04:10:04
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
clively wrote:Seems to me that if you are taking Tyberos then the Carcharodons must be the primary detachment.
Why? because the warlord must come from the primary detachment AND Tyberos' rules say he must be the warlord. Ergo, Carcharodons have to be the primary detachment to satisfy all of the conditions.
That makes the most sense to me. I'm willing to bet its not what was intended but I think you are spot on with what is legal according to RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/13 13:49:04
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I sent the inquiry to FW, they responded with an answer about chapter masters that said:
Thank you for your email. If Tyberos is in the Primary detachment, then you can't take any other Chapter Masters. If he is in the allied Detachment, then you can take other Chapter Masters in the Primary detachment.
I have since Re-sent it, but it seems that they think he can be used as an ally. Ill post the new response when i get it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/13 15:00:48
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DJGietzen wrote:clively wrote:Seems to me that if you are taking Tyberos then the Carcharodons must be the primary detachment.
Why? because the warlord must come from the primary detachment AND Tyberos' rules say he must be the warlord. Ergo, Carcharodons have to be the primary detachment to satisfy all of the conditions.
That makes the most sense to me. I'm willing to bet its not what was intended but I think you are spot on with what is legal according to RAW.
Indceed here there is no conflict - you have to fulfil both at the same time
If his rule stated "even if he is not from your primary detachment", then it would override the BRB and an alllied Tyberos would be the Warlord despite not being in the primary detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/13 15:55:31
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Here it is:
Thank you for your email. If you field Tyberos, he has to be your Warlord as per his rules. Depending upon the size of the game being played, Tyberos has to lead your primary detachment in games of less than 2000 points. In games of 2000 points or more, you can take two primary detachments. As such, you must field Tyberos in one of these and he will also be the Warlord.
Seems ill have to stick to greyknights.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/14 11:20:21
Subject: Tyberos the red wake?
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
That's very good to know, Kingleir. Thanks for shooting them that e-mail.
I suppose this then applies to all the chapter master characters from the Forgeworld Badab update like Moloc and Culn. Very good to know indeed.
Also, don't you love how quickly they reply to rules questions? It's pretty great. It's owned by the same parent company as GW, so you think they'd have similar levels of customer care but GW's is a hot bag of dog poop left on your porch, while Forgeworld is the neighbor who brings you cookies when they bake too many.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/14 11:22:21
|
|
 |
 |
|