Switch Theme:

Do grots provide cover for Gorkanauts?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





Seattle

This has come up in my games a lot lately. Do grots provide cover for walkers behind them? A whole squad of them is not enough to cover 25% of a Gorkanaut. But as the cover rules state you are shooting through another unit.

Insert inspiring text here.
3K 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

From the Vehicles and Cover - Obscured Targets section in the BRB.

Vehicles and Cover wrote:At least 25% of the facing of the vehicle that is being targeted (its front, side or rear) needs to be hidden by intervening terrain or models from the point of view of the firer for the vehicle to be in cover.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/27 16:37:16


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

How tall are grot models? Are they tall enough to provide 25% cover for a Battle Wagon? A Deff Dread? A Killa Kan?
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





Seattle

No they are less than an inch tall



Automatically Appended Next Post:
So walkers act as a vehicle when it comes to cover?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/27 16:50:56


Insert inspiring text here.
3K 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Makinit wrote:
So walkers act as a vehicle when it comes to cover?
Of course, Walkers ARE vehicles.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Makinit wrote:
So walkers act as a vehicle when it comes to cover?
Yes, because they are Vehicles. They only follow the rules for Infantry where specifically mentioned in their rules (moving, charging and assaults).
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





No, they do not, except perhaps against other Grots that are standing very close to them....

And, for taller models shooting at the Gorkanauts, they are firing OVER the Grots, not through them.

If, in this case, the Gorkanaut is not 25% obscured from the point of view of at least one 'shooter', it does not get a cover save.

Perhaps the Grots can be put on stilts?
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





Seattle

Time to give all the grots really tall banners Thanks for clarifying guys.

Insert inspiring text here.
3K 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Makinit wrote:
Time to give all the grots really tall banners Thanks for clarifying guys.


While I'm sure that may have been a joke, banners are not part of the model so they won't provide cover.
Also, that'd be modelling for advantage if they did count.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/27 19:25:47


If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Ond Angel wrote:
 Makinit wrote:
Time to give all the grots really tall banners Thanks for clarifying guys.


While I'm sure that may have been a joke, banners are not part of the model so they won't provide cover.

That's wrong. While banners don't count for if you can see that specific model, cover is still determined by obscurement of TLoS so a banner can obscure to other models
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





Seattle

I would not count them unless they where originally part of the model. Otherwise you are modeling for advantage. I would count the Waagh banner if I had paid the points for it.

Insert inspiring text here.
3K 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

CrownAxe wrote:
 Ond Angel wrote:
 Makinit wrote:
Time to give all the grots really tall banners Thanks for clarifying guys.


While I'm sure that may have been a joke, banners are not part of the model so they won't provide cover.

That's wrong. While banners don't count for if you can see that specific model, cover is still determined by obscurement of TLoS so a banner can obscure to other models


Ah, my mistake.


Makinit wrote:I would not count them unless they where originally part of the model. Otherwise you are modeling for advantage. I would count the Waagh banner if I had paid the points for it.


That's fair enough.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Grots could provide cover to anything as long as they covered 25% from the firers perspective. You have to get down and look from the models perspective.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus







 Makinit wrote:
I would not count them unless they where originally part of the model. Otherwise you are modeling for advantage. I would count the Waagh banner if I had paid the points for it.


yeah, i'd accept that it got cover save if a WAAAGH banner covered more than 25% of it.

i'd want the grot carrying it to be suitably hilariously staggered undr the weight of said banner, mind

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-px27tzAtVwZpZ4ljopV2w "ashtrays and teacups do not count as cover"
"jack of all trades, master of none; certainly better than a master of one"
The Ordo Reductor - the guy's who make wonderful things like the Landraider Achillies, but can't use them in battle..  
   
Made in ru
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

Do the legs of a Triarch Stalker count as "part of the model" for purposes of 25% concealment?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Alcibiades wrote:
Do the legs of a Triarch Stalker count as "part of the model" for purposes of 25% concealment?

Yes as they are part of the Hull
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz





Wait...MCs have no such rule do they? Are the rules pro wraithknight being blocked by a grot but anti gorkanaut being blocked?

Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





Seattle

FratHammer wrote:
Wait...MCs have no such rule do they? Are the rules pro wraithknight being blocked by a grot but anti gorkanaut being blocked?

Sounds like this is the case. No love for walkers.

Insert inspiring text here.
3K 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Makinit wrote:
Time to give all the grots really tall banners Thanks for clarifying guys.


nah, just get those decorative bases that add a 1/2"

and keep the gorkanaut on it's flat base

 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

FratHammer wrote:
Wait...MCs have no such rule do they? Are the rules pro wraithknight being blocked by a grot but anti gorkanaut being blocked?


Only if you are shooting through the unit of Grots, and not if you are able to fire over the unit of Grots.

When shooting through other units at a non-vehicle target unit there's no requirement for at least 25% obscurement, however this also does not count if you are simply shooting over the the unit at the non-vehicle target.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/02 20:07:34


 
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Australia

 Mr. Shine wrote:
FratHammer wrote:
Wait...MCs have no such rule do they? Are the rules pro wraithknight being blocked by a grot but anti gorkanaut being blocked?


Only if you are shooting through the unit of Grots, and not if you are able to fire over the unit of Grots.

When shooting through other units at a non-vehicle target unit there's no requirement for at least 25% obscurement, however this also does not count if you are simply shooting over the the unit at the non-vehicle target.


They'd only count as shooting over if the shooter was on an elevated position right?

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

sm3g wrote:
They'd only count as shooting over if the shooter was on an elevated position right?


That's a specific example given in the rules description, yes.
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





Seattle

Based on that grots would not provide cover for anyone. My boyz gunz are above the grots heads.

Insert inspiring text here.
3K 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker




Alaska

Just another reason to never take grots
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob




Cary, NC

BossMakk wrote:
Just another reason to never take grots


Or a reason to make a board with a Gorkanaut pit in it, conveniently deep enough to allow the nearby grots to provide cover?

I'm just saying--if you can't have a reason to take grots, why even play orks? Who doesn't love murdering the little blighters?

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: