| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 14:59:06
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So, in the general movement section (pg.61) it is written that:
A trooper can vault over any obstacle not higher than
his Silhouette Template (as determined by his Silhouette
Attribute) at no cost, without declaring Jump or Climb.
But in the Super-Jump section (pg.93) it says:
When the user of Super-Jump moves normally on the ground,
he may vault over obstacles up to his height without penalty.
So from what I can read, that part of super jump don't really offer any bonus compared to normal walking?
Also a question that arose during one of our games:
Player A has, through some misfortune, a bunch of models clustered in the middle of the table..
Player B, wanting to kill them, declares move+bs.
Player B starts in total cover and moves out of it, carrying a shotgun.
Can player A aro on the move and avoid getting all his models killed by the auto-hitting shotgun?
The reason we ask is that it seems pretty annoying to lose 4 models to only 1 shot, which seems unavoidable, since the aro shot won't kill the shotgun model
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/14 15:10:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 15:50:27
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
Since when do shotguns auto-hit ?
It will be a face to face between the shooter and every model under the template, but only the initial target can "cancel the shot" with his FtF, the others can only save themselves if they beat the shooter's roll
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 17:27:02
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I said shotgun, as in template  can't remember the type, but it required no bs roll.. And I had totally forgotten that the FtF roll could cancel the shot  Would that mean that if the intial target cancels it, the others are safe? or will it only cancel it for himself?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/14 17:27:22
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 17:34:59
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Direct Template Weapons don't require roll, Shotgun Blast is an Impact Template Weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 20:03:20
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
She had some rule on it, saying she didn't need a bs roll  can't recall what it was
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 21:32:25
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
That's for Direct Template Weapons, a Shotgun is not, a Shotgun always needs to roll to hit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 23:18:46
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Utilizing Careful Highlighting
|
It was probably a flamethrower, given he was talking nomads in the other thread. That and chain rifles are the most common direct templates. Aro to dodge on normal PH for each one will avoid the damage and let you move 2" to not be in bullseye formation, if I recall, or do a sacrifice, and bs attack, also on normal roll--four guys worth of combi rifle fire should be scary for anything not a tag. Not played much n3, but I don't think there's a way to straight cancel direct template.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/14 23:36:36
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If it was a flamethrower, I'd say so  so let's leave that now please
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/17 09:39:09
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Devon, UK
|
TanKoL wrote:Since when do shotguns auto-hit ?
It will be a face to face between the shooter and every model under the template, but only the initial target can "cancel the shot" with his FtF, the others can only save themselves if they beat the shooter's roll
Minor correction:
Place the template on declaration.
Roll to hit the main target.
Everyone affected makes their FtF rolls separately against those rolls to hit.
None of the enemy rolls can cancel the template once it's placed, or have any effect on the other enemy models' rolls.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/17 10:39:48
Subject: Need a little help with some movement and aro
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks for that one :-D good to know the part about whether a single mini can save his friends or not :-)
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|