Switch Theme:

Mandiblasters and ICs plus assaults  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Two questions, just to make sure I'm not missing anything.

Mandiblasters: During the Fight sub-phase, at the start of the Initiative 10 step, roll a D6 for each model equipped with mandiblasters. On a result of 4+, an enemy unit that is engaged with the model (attacking player's choice) suffers a single Wound (saving throws can be taken as normal). Gargantuan Creatures suffer a Wound on a result of 6+ instead of 4+. If a character equipped with mandiblasters is fighting in a challenge, the Wound must be allocated to his opponent.

Can a model that suffers a Wound from a Mandiblaster take a cover save against it?

Scenario. An IC is attached to a unit. In the Shooting phase the unit is killed, but the IC lives. Can the IC be charged (assuming nobody shot at just the IC)? For example. A squad of Termagants shoot at a Tac squad with attached Captain. The Captain survives, but the Tac Squad is killed. Can the gaunts charge the Captain?


I'm fairly certain the answers to the above are yes and no (respectively), However, I just want to verify I'm not missing anything.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Assuming the model wanting to take the cover save is granted the cover save by something other than being obscured (unless you can be engaged while still being obscured, I suppose).

I'd suggest the RAI is that wounds suffered from Mandiblasters should be considered close combat attacks and thus should not be allowed cover saves, but that doesn't clearly appear to be RAW.

The second question is quite clearly no per RAW, though again I think there's a fair RAI argument that the Independent Character was the target of the unit's shooting attack, even if he's not strictly the same unit once the others are killed at the beginning of the subsequent (assault) phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/02 04:42:02


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Assault Phase - Allocating Wounds wrote:Models do not get cover saves against any Wounds suffered from close combat attacks, {...}
So this is what stops cover saves from applying in combat, but it specifies "close combat attacks" rather than "wounds in the Fight sub-phase". Arguably Mandiblasters are close combat attacks (they only happen in close combat), but they don't have a weapon profile with the Melee type. Hammer of Wrath (the closest similar thing I can think of) actually calls itself an "attack", which excludes itself.
RAW is murky and I'm not sure I want to commit either way. It's possibly even fluffy - after all, a Mandiblaster is sort of a shooting attack, albeit one with a very short range.
Independent Character wrote:If an Independent Character joins a unit, and all other models in that unit are killed, he again becomes a unit of one model at the start of the following phase.
The unit that the Captain is at the start of the Assault Phase is a different unit than at the end of the Shooting Phase. RAW seems no, but this is definitely one of those interactions that seems like a loophole. My HIWPI is yes he can be charged.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Unfortunately, the term "Close Combat Attacks" is never defined in the rulebook. "Close combat" seems to be referred to as the entirety of the time two opposing units are in base contact with each other.

- Page 48 under "Fight Close Combat" says "In close combat, both players' models fight. Attacks in close combat work like..."
- Page 49 under "Number of attacks" says "Each engaged model makes a number of attacks as indicated on it's characteristic profile."

Each time we come close, the rulebook simply refers to them as "attacks" and not "close combat attacks". My guess would be that a "close combat attack" is any attack made within this poorly defined/undefined "close combat" time period. Following that logic, the mandiblasters would be considered a "close combat attack" since it happens during the initiative 10 step. So no cover saves. The example of Hammer of Wrath given above is a good comparison since it also only labels itself as an "attack" and also happens at the initiative 10 step.

This is just my best guess, so has to be labeled HIWPI.


As for the second question, I'm pretty much on board with Mr. Shine. RAW, no they may not charge as it is a different unit than what you shot. I would definitely allow them to charge my leftover IC though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/02 04:56:37


 
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





No cover save against Mandiblasters. The Mandiblasters work in EVERY fight sub-phase. Once you are locked in CC, you cannot take cover saves/jink or be targeted by a shooting attack.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






The cannot take cover saves is a fabrication. No where is that stated.

You cannot jink because you have to be targeted with a shooting attack to jink. You cannot ve targeted by shooting attacks.

The no cover saves against "Close Combat Attacks": Close Combat Attacks would be the entire process you have been reading about up to that point from the main header in the section(Fighting a Close Combat). Since Mandiblasters are called an attack that takes place within that process it is fairly indicative that it cannot be cover saved.

If you are locked in combat and a blast weapon scatters on you, you could still get a cover save; but Go to Ground is explicitly denyed full stop.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Close combat is defined as two (or more, including multiple combats) units being in base contact with each other. I think it's reasonable to take close combat attacks to be generally defined as attacks between two or more units that are in base contact with each other.

I'm not certain that's 100% strict RAW however, but again I think clear RAI is that Mandiblasters be a close combat attack and not allow cover saves.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
The cannot take cover saves is a fabrication. No where is that stated.

Indeed - It only says you cannot take cover saves against close combat attacks, not that you may not take cover saves at all.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/09/02 21:56:45


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: