Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/21 22:36:27
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I was wondering if, unless specifically stated, the slots for things like detachments can be fulfilled by units from different factions.
an example I was thinking was something like the purge detachment, with the HQ being a herald of nurgle and the 2 elites being plague marines. is there something that says that doesnt work? or is it ok?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/21 22:41:40
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
The rulebook is clear that a detachment must be completely one faction
Also daemons can't use the Purge at all
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/21 22:48:33
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
CrownAxe wrote:The rulebook is clear that a detachment must be completely one faction
Also daemons can't use the Purge at all
welp that settles that then.
I have a real hard time finding what i want in the rulebook, let me tell you...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/22 04:03:58
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
CrownAxe wrote:The rulebook is clear that a detachment must be completely one faction
Do you have a reference for that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/22 04:56:00
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Almost every detachment has a restriction that writes "All units chosen must have the same Faction (or a specific Faction)."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/22 04:59:01
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
txdyz wrote:
Almost every detachment has a restriction that writes "All units chosen must have the same Faction (or a specific Faction)."
I'm aware of that, but that's not what he said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/22 05:10:07
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Mr. Shine wrote:txdyz wrote:
Almost every detachment has a restriction that writes "All units chosen must have the same Faction (or a specific Faction)."
I'm aware of that, but that's not what he said.
If you take a faction-specificed slot-based detachment or formation detachment, there is a symbol that tells you which faction it belongs to.
For the CAD and AD detachment, it has a restriction just wrote above.
But in fact, some detachment can filled with units from several factions. Just like the two Mechanicus ones.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/22 05:34:16
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Yes, I know all of that.
That's why I asked for a reference in the rulebook where it says "that a detachment must be completely one faction".
Because absolutely I agree most detachments have rules restricting their contents to being from a single faction, but I'm not aware that the rulebook says so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/22 13:47:18
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Yes, I know all of that.
That's why I asked for a reference in the rulebook where it says "that a detachment must be completely one faction".
Because absolutely I agree most detachments have rules restricting their contents to being from a single faction, but I'm not aware that the rulebook says so.
There is no such rule.
All the BRB says is this:
BRB wrote:A unit’s Faction applies regardless of how you choose your army, but is especially relevant to Detachments because many state that you can only include units of a particular Faction. Factions are also used when including Allies, and some special rules will apply only to specific Factions. Note that Fortifications are an exception in that, unless otherwise stated on their datasheet, they do not have a Faction.
So the BRB assumes that there are detachments that limit you to one specific faction, but others do not. Which does not mean that mixing is allowed, just that there are some that lock you down to a particular one - eg Space Wolves.
The Combined Arms Detachment however has the restriction you're looking for:
BRB wrote:All units chosen must have the same Faction (or have no Faction).
So if you do NOT have a similar restriction, you're technically free to do whatever you like. I'm not aware of a detachment like that, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/22 14:48:07
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe
Bodt
|
Isn't War Convocation a Detachment with at least 2 factions, Skitaari and Mechanicus? And the Flesh Tearers detachment with Skitaari. However, each detachment will tell you what you can have in it, so unless the Purge says you can take something from Daemons, you can't.
|
4000 pts
4700+ pts
2500 pts Hive Fleet Gungnir
St. Peter don't you call me 'cause I can't go. I owe my soul to GW's store. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/23 11:20:12
Subject: question about detachment/formation requirements
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
KharnsRightHand wrote:Isn't War Convocation a Detachment with at least 2 factions, Skitaari and Mechanicus? And the Flesh Tearers detachment with Skitaari. However, each detachment will tell you what you can have in it, so unless the Purge says you can take something from Daemons, you can't.
The Purge says "All units in this detachment (except fortifications) must have the Chaos Renegades or Chaos Space Marine faction."
|
|
 |
 |
|