Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/01 21:12:44
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
For example if I were running 3 vindicators they can shoot at separate targets since they are part of a formation not a squadron correct? They just have to be 6" of each other for the special rules correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/01 21:16:26
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Correct. They are not one squadron and are separate units, and must follow the requirements for the formation's rules to gain the relevant benefits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/01 21:32:20
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Correct. They are not one squadron and are separate units, and must follow the requirements for the formation's rules to gain the relevant benefits.
Actually the answer is 'it depends'. Vindicators (and most other Space Marine armored vehicles) are now purchasable in squadrons of 1-3 vehicles. If you were to purchase them as a squadron, then they remain a squadron in the formation and are only 1 of the 3-5 required units (Vindicators, Predators or Whirlwinds). You could also purchase 3 individual Vindicators and have your minimum required 3 units.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/01 23:51:45
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ghaz wrote: Mr. Shine wrote:Correct. They are not one squadron and are separate units, and must follow the requirements for the formation's rules to gain the relevant benefits.
Actually the answer is 'it depends'. Vindicators (and most other Space Marine armored vehicles) are now purchasable in squadrons of 1-3 vehicles. If you were to purchase them as a squadron, then they remain a squadron in the formation and are only 1 of the 3-5 required units (Vindicators, Predators or Whirlwinds). You could also purchase 3 individual Vindicators and have your minimum required 3 units.
That I knew. It'll say additional may be taken for X amount of points. Those would be squads but I was curious about the Armoured Task Force formation.
Thank you both for your time to answer!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/02 00:33:54
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
ZooPants wrote:That I knew. It'll say additional may be taken for X amount of points. Those would be squads but I was curious about the Armoured Task Force formation.
Which are taken from the same datasheets. A unit of Vindicators is the same regardless of whether it is in a detachment or formation.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/02 04:40:36
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ghaz wrote:ZooPants wrote:That I knew. It'll say additional may be taken for X amount of points. Those would be squads but I was curious about the Armoured Task Force formation.
Which are taken from the same datasheets. A unit of Vindicators is the same regardless of whether it is in a detachment or formation.
The datasheet says I can get up to three. The formation says 3-5 In any combination. So can they our can't they shoot st different targets?!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/02 04:45:58
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
ZooPants wrote: Ghaz wrote:ZooPants wrote:That I knew. It'll say additional may be taken for X amount of points. Those would be squads but I was curious about the Armoured Task Force formation.
Which are taken from the same datasheets. A unit of Vindicators is the same regardless of whether it is in a detachment or formation.
The datasheet says I can get up to three. The formation says 3-5 In any combination. So can they our can't they shoot st different targets?!
The datasheet of Vindicators says you can have up to 3 for the unit. The Formation says you can take 3-5 units.
So, you can have 3-15 Vindicators being able to fire at 3-5 targets (due to being 3-5 units).
Who needs Fortifications. Good thing they can't get Fists Tactics...
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/02 04:56:28
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
ZooPants wrote: Ghaz wrote:ZooPants wrote:That I knew. It'll say additional may be taken for X amount of points. Those would be squads but I was curious about the Armoured Task Force formation.
Which are taken from the same datasheets. A unit of Vindicators is the same regardless of whether it is in a detachment or formation.
The datasheet says I can get up to three. The formation says 3-5 In any combination. So can they our can't they shoot st different targets?!
The formation says you can take 3-5 units, with each unit consisting of 1-3 vehicles. So again, it depends on how you take your three Vindicators. Did you take them as one unit of three Vindicators or three units of one Vindicator each?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/02 08:12:07
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
ZooPants wrote:For example if I were running 3 vindicators they can shoot at separate targets since they are part of a formation not a squadron correct? They just have to be 6" of each other for the special rules correct?
Your Formation allows you to bring 3 (or more) Vindicators units, each of them can fire independendly as normal - being part of a Formation doesn't make you behave like a unit or similar - so all you'll wanna do is keep them within 6 inches of their Tech Marine.
Each Vindicators unit consists of 1 to 3 Vindicators, which are a squadron and therefore must shoot basically as one unit. If you bring three in one squadron, you can benefit from their squadron rule Linebreaker Bombardment.
Examples of valid ATF formations:
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 Tech Marine
---
None of your Vindicators can use Linebreaker Bombardment, but it is a valid selection
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 3 Vindicators
1 unit of Predators, consisting of 1 Predator
1 unit of Whirlwinds, consisting of 2 Whirlwinds
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 Tech Marine
---
Also legal, and the first unit of Vindicators can use Linebreaker Bombardment. The other (solo) Vindicator cannot, and both the Whirlwinds and the Predators are also unable to benefit from their max squadron rules (Suppressive Bombardment and Killshot)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/02 08:16:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/02 12:43:37
Subject: Armoured task force formation question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
nekooni wrote:ZooPants wrote:For example if I were running 3 vindicators they can shoot at separate targets since they are part of a formation not a squadron correct? They just have to be 6" of each other for the special rules correct?
Your Formation allows you to bring 3 (or more) Vindicators units, each of them can fire independendly as normal - being part of a Formation doesn't make you behave like a unit or similar - so all you'll wanna do is keep them within 6 inches of their Tech Marine.
Each Vindicators unit consists of 1 to 3 Vindicators, which are a squadron and therefore must shoot basically as one unit. If you bring three in one squadron, you can benefit from their squadron rule Linebreaker Bombardment.
Examples of valid ATF formations:
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 Tech Marine
---
None of your Vindicators can use Linebreaker Bombardment, but it is a valid selection
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 3 Vindicators
1 unit of Predators, consisting of 1 Predator
1 unit of Whirlwinds, consisting of 2 Whirlwinds
1 unit of Vindicators, consisting of 1 Vindicator
1 Tech Marine
---
Also legal, and the first unit of Vindicators can use Linebreaker Bombardment. The other (solo) Vindicator cannot, and both the Whirlwinds and the Predators are also unable to benefit from their max squadron rules (Suppressive Bombardment and Killshot)
This is a fantastic explanation!! Thank you so very much!!
I took them as single units. Which sucks that I can't use line breaker
|
|
 |
 |
|