Switch Theme:

Culexus Assassin questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





1. If a Culexus Assassin tosses a psyk-out grenade, and the enemy Warlord that is a Psyker and is in that unit, dies as a result of the Perils of the Warp result, do you receive an extra VP at the end of the game?

Psi-Shock: If a unit containing at least one Psyker (i.e. a model with the Psyker, Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers or Psychic Pilot special rule) is hit by a weapon with the Psi-shock special rule, one randomly determined Psyker model in that unit suffers Perils of the Warp in addition to any other damage.


Operation Assassinate: If the mission you are playing uses Victory Points, you receive one bonus Victory Point at the end of the game if the enemy's Warlord was removed as a casualty as a result of a Wound inflicted by a model with this special rule


2. Does a Culex Assassins' Etherium act as a set modifier? As such, do markerlights have any actual effect when using them for Pinpoint? The way I read it, the user would increase his BS via Pinpoint, then it would again be set to 1 by Etherium, just want confirmation.

Etherium: Whenever enemy units target a Culexus Assassin with shooting or close combat attacks, the shots/attacks are always resolved as if the attacking unit had Ballistic Skill and Weapon Skill 1.


Pinpoint: All models firing at the target as part of this shooting attack gain a bonus to their Ballistic Skill for the duration of the shooting attack. The size of this bonus is equal to the number of markerlight counters expended on this ability. Pinpoint can increase the Ballistic Skill of Snap Shots and Overwatch.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Set modifier, so comes after the bonus BS from Pinpoint.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Doesn't the current turn player decide the order it goes in if they occur at the same time? so on their turn, etherium then marker light (increase from bs1) most likely, then on your turn marker light (overwatch situation?) then etherium.

given the markerlights are landing at bs1 base, so not too many to worry about.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 pumaman1 wrote:
Doesn't the current turn player decide the order it goes in if they occur at the same time? so on their turn, etherium then marker light (increase from bs1) most likely, then on your turn marker light (overwatch situation?) then etherium.

No. See 'Multiple Modifiers' on page 10 of the main rulebook.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

For the first point: you killed the warlord with your grenade so yes you do get the point.

For the second: I read it as ALWAYS resolved at BS1 regardless of modifiers.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy




Pittsburgh

That's interesting. I am liking the look of the culexus more and more.

My Armies:
Orks about 15000-16000 mostly unpainted but slowly being worked on
Militarum Tempestus about 2000 points just built
Inquisition about 2000 points unpainted
Officio Assassinorum 570 unpainted
I dont paint quickly 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 mrhappyface wrote:
For the first point: you killed the warlord with your grenade so yes you do get the point.

For the second: I read it as ALWAYS resolved at BS1 regardless of modifiers.


Yeah, I agree with everyone's opinion that it is a set modifier, just wanted to see if someone reads it differently.

Concerning the 1st point though, did you? Does it count as a wound inflicted by you? Cause you're only forcing the Psyker to suffer a Perils of the Warp effect, you're not exactly causing the wound directly. That grenade also has a S2, so let's say you rolled a 1, and didn't do any wounds, but the Perils of the Warp results kills the Warlord.

Does that really count as a wound you inflicted?
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

They are pretty nasty, however I would be careful when fielding him: he can easily be killed with Str8 blast weapons (no eternal warrior).
Also he only moves 6" so most armies can just out maneuver him.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in ca
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




I've read the datasheet on this assassin. I don't understand how some of his warp negating trickery works.

Can anyone explain in layman's terms?

Absorbed Warp Charge:
When firing an animus speculum, first add up the combined mastery levels of all Psyker units, friend or foe, that are within 12" of the Culexus Assassin, and pick up that many dice.
You can then add up to 3 more dice to this hand by removing them from your own Warp Charge pool.
The total number of dice in your hand is the number of shots the animus speculum now fires.

- I get the first line. But what if their are no psykers within 12? You'd just be left with up to 3 dice from your own pool, right? So what if you're not a pysker race but you added a culexus as a formation? Would you roll d6 at the start of your psychic phase? Just to get the culexus 3 potential shots of the speculum? Right?

*NEXT*

Psychic Abomination: (first part of the rule)
Psykers, friend or foe, within 12" of a Culexus Assassin have -3 Leadership, do not generate any Warp Charge (i.e. they do not add dice to their owning player’s Warp Charge Pool in the Psychic phase)
and only harness Warp Charge points on a 6.
- what does that mean?

- Any pysker within 12" is -3Ld and lets say is ML3. When the opponent's pychic phase starts they would not include those 3 dice to their dice pool? Right? Does the last part mean that if they cast a spell they need a 6 rather than a 4? right?

9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800  
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

 Mavlun wrote:
 mrhappyface wrote:
For the first point: you killed the warlord with your grenade so yes you do get the point.

For the second: I read it as ALWAYS resolved at BS1 regardless of modifiers.


Yeah, I agree with everyone's opinion that it is a set modifier, just wanted to see if someone reads it differently.

Concerning the 1st point though, did you? Does it count as a wound inflicted by you? Cause you're only forcing the Psyker to suffer a Perils of the Warp effect, you're not exactly causing the wound directly. That grenade also has a S2, so let's say you rolled a 1, and didn't do any wounds, but the Perils of the Warp results kills the Warlord.

Does that really count as a wound you inflicted?


I would say your weapon caused him to take the test, same if a weapon causes a toughness test.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Naaris wrote:
I've read the datasheet on this assassin. I don't understand how some of his warp negating trickery works.

Can anyone explain in layman's terms?

Absorbed Warp Charge:
When firing an animus speculum, first add up the combined mastery levels of all Psyker units, friend or foe, that are within 12" of the Culexus Assassin, and pick up that many dice.
You can then add up to 3 more dice to this hand by removing them from your own Warp Charge pool.
The total number of dice in your hand is the number of shots the animus speculum now fires.

- I get the first line. But what if their are no psykers within 12? You'd just be left with up to 3 dice from your own pool, right? So what if you're not a pysker race but you added a culexus as a formation? Would you roll d6 at the start of your psychic phase? Just to get the culexus 3 potential shots of the speculum? Right?

*NEXT*

Psychic Abomination: (first part of the rule)
Psykers, friend or foe, within 12" of a Culexus Assassin have -3 Leadership, do not generate any Warp Charge (i.e. they do not add dice to their owning player’s Warp Charge Pool in the Psychic phase)
and only harness Warp Charge points on a 6.
- what does that mean?

- Any pysker within 12" is -3Ld and lets say is ML3. When the opponent's pychic phase starts they would not include those 3 dice to their dice pool? Right? Does the last part mean that if they cast a spell they need a 6 rather than a 4? right?


First point: I would say any army can develop warp charge psykers just allow you to use them, so if the assassin is no where near a psyker he can take a maximum of 3 warp charge from the pool he created in the psychic phase.

Next point: psykers within 12" can only use their mastery level to develop warp charge and require 6's rather than 4's to activate it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/05 20:31:39


Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Mavlun wrote:
1. If a Culexus Assassin tosses a psyk-out grenade, and the enemy Warlord that is a Psyker and is in that unit, dies as a result of the Perils of the Warp result, do you receive an extra VP at the end of the game?

Psi-Shock: If a unit containing at least one Psyker (i.e. a model with the Psyker, Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers or Psychic Pilot special rule) is hit by a weapon with the Psi-shock special rule, one randomly determined Psyker model in that unit suffers Perils of the Warp in addition to any other damage.


Operation Assassinate: If the mission you are playing uses Victory Points, you receive one bonus Victory Point at the end of the game if the enemy's Warlord was removed as a casualty as a result of a Wound inflicted by a model with this special rule


EDIT -

This one is iffy per RAW because while Perils of the Warp is caused as a result of the model hitting the enemy Warlord it's not clear that it is the model inflicting any subsequent Wounds. If we assume it is the model granting the effects of Perils of the Warp to the enemy Warlord it's a bit silly to take it that you have granted the enemy Warlord a 3+ Invulnerable save as well as the Fleshbane, Armourbane and Smash special rules, for example.

HIWPI is to probably allow it, though.

Naaris wrote:
I get the first line. But what if their are no psykers within 12? You'd just be left with up to 3 dice from your own pool, right? So what if you're not a pysker race but you added a culexus as a formation? Would you roll d6 at the start of your psychic phase? Just to get the culexus 3 potential shots of the speculum? Right?


Strictly speaking it is a requirement to resolve the Psychic phase even if you do not have any psykers in your army. So yes, you would roll for your number of Warp Charge points and you could use those even if you had no psykers.

Any pysker within 12" is -3Ld and lets say is ML3. When the opponent's pychic phase starts they would not include those 3 dice to their dice pool? Right? Does the last part mean that if they cast a spell they need a 6 rather than a 4? right?


Correct.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2016/02/05 22:33:34


 
   
Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





Alaska

Naaris wrote:
I've read the datasheet on this assassin. I don't understand how some of his warp negating trickery works.

Can anyone explain in layman's terms?

Absorbed Warp Charge:
When firing an animus speculum, first add up the combined mastery levels of all Psyker units, friend or foe, that are within 12" of the Culexus Assassin, and pick up that many dice.
You can then add up to 3 more dice to this hand by removing them from your own Warp Charge pool.
The total number of dice in your hand is the number of shots the animus speculum now fires.

- I get the first line. But what if their are no psykers within 12? You'd just be left with up to 3 dice from your own pool, right? So what if you're not a pysker race but you added a culexus as a formation? Would you roll d6 at the start of your psychic phase? Just to get the culexus 3 potential shots of the speculum? Right?

*NEXT*

Psychic Abomination: (first part of the rule)
Psykers, friend or foe, within 12" of a Culexus Assassin have -3 Leadership, do not generate any Warp Charge (i.e. they do not add dice to their owning player’s Warp Charge Pool in the Psychic phase)
and only harness Warp Charge points on a 6.
- what does that mean?

- Any pysker within 12" is -3Ld and lets say is ML3. When the opponent's pychic phase starts they would not include those 3 dice to their dice pool? Right? Does the last part mean that if they cast a spell they need a 6 rather than a 4? right?




Question!!!!!!! If you have an army with no psykers on your side, just the cull ass. Do you still get a psychic phase? Can you generate D6 points to just dump into his eye gun?

37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods

35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth

15,000pts - Firehawks

10,000 pts - Nighthaunt

Dkok - 1850
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 xSoulgrinderx wrote:
Question!!!!!!! If you have an army with no psykers on your side, just the cull ass. Do you still get a psychic phase? Can you generate D6 points to just dump into his eye gun?


The Psychic phase is not optional. You must generate Warp Charge points and then the Psychic phase ends if you either cannot or choose not to resolve any more psychic actions.
   
Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





Alaska

 mrhappyface wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
 mrhappyface wrote:
For the first point: you killed the warlord with your grenade so yes you do get the point.

For the second: I read it as ALWAYS resolved at BS1 regardless of modifiers.


Yeah, I agree with everyone's opinion that it is a set modifier, just wanted to see if someone reads it differently.

Concerning the 1st point though, did you? Does it count as a wound inflicted by you? Cause you're only forcing the Psyker to suffer a Perils of the Warp effect, you're not exactly causing the wound directly. That grenade also has a S2, so let's say you rolled a 1, and didn't do any wounds, but the Perils of the Warp results kills the Warlord.

Does that really count as a wound you inflicted?


I would say your weapon caused him to take the test, same if a weapon causes a toughness test.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Naaris wrote:
I've read the datasheet on this assassin. I don't understand how some of his warp negating trickery works.

Can anyone explain in layman's terms?

Absorbed Warp Charge:
When firing an animus speculum, first add up the combined mastery levels of all Psyker units, friend or foe, that are within 12" of the Culexus Assassin, and pick up that many dice.
You can then add up to 3 more dice to this hand by removing them from your own Warp Charge pool.
The total number of dice in your hand is the number of shots the animus speculum now fires.

- I get the first line. But what if their are no psykers within 12? You'd just be left with up to 3 dice from your own pool, right? So what if you're not a pysker race but you added a culexus as a formation? Would you roll d6 at the start of your psychic phase? Just to get the culexus 3 potential shots of the speculum? Right?

*NEXT*

Psychic Abomination: (first part of the rule)
Psykers, friend or foe, within 12" of a Culexus Assassin have -3 Leadership, do not generate any Warp Charge (i.e. they do not add dice to their owning player’s Warp Charge Pool in the Psychic phase)
and only harness Warp Charge points on a 6.
- what does that mean?

- Any pysker within 12" is -3Ld and lets say is ML3. When the opponent's pychic phase starts they would not include those 3 dice to their dice pool? Right? Does the last part mean that if they cast a spell they need a 6 rather than a 4? right?


First point: I would say any army can develop warp charge psykers just allow you to use them, so if the assassin is no where near a psyker he can take a maximum of 3 warp charge from the pool he created in the psychic phase.

Next point: psykers within 12" can only use their mastery level to develop warp charge and require 6's rather than 4's to activate it.


Incorrect, you cannot use your mastery levels to create points.

37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods

35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth

15,000pts - Firehawks

10,000 pts - Nighthaunt

Dkok - 1850
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 xSoulgrinderx wrote:
Question!!!!!!! If you have an army with no psykers on your side, just the cull ass. Do you still get a psychic phase? Can you generate D6 points to just dump into his eye gun?

Yes. In most cases, an army comprised wholly of Necron/Tau/Dark Eldar/Black Templar units will be in this case, and if you have nothing to interact with it, you just breeze through the Phase as if you had nothing to Shoot in the Shooting Phase. However, this assassin does have something to do in the Psychic Phase, so there you go.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/05 22:38:04


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





Alaska

 Mr. Shine wrote:
 xSoulgrinderx wrote:
Question!!!!!!! If you have an army with no psykers on your side, just the cull ass. Do you still get a psychic phase? Can you generate D6 points to just dump into his eye gun?


The Psychic phase is not optional. You must generate Warp Charge points and then the Psychic phase ends if you either cannot or choose not to resolve any more psychic actions.


So.... by playing my IH and forbidding any psykers in my collection, I usually simply say 100010101001 and my psychic phase is over. But in reality, I should be generating the D6 charge points and then throwing them away. Still same result, unused points, but I am still REQUIRED to generate them.

37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods

35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth

15,000pts - Firehawks

10,000 pts - Nighthaunt

Dkok - 1850
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 xSoulgrinderx wrote:
So.... by playing my IH and forbidding any psykers in my collection, I usually simply say 100010101001 and my psychic phase is over. But in reality, I should be generating the D6 charge points and then throwing them away. Still same result, unused points, but I am still REQUIRED to generate them.


Strictly speaking, yes.
   
Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





Alaska

Adepticon speaks strictly. So I might have to follow this to the T.

37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods

35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth

15,000pts - Firehawks

10,000 pts - Nighthaunt

Dkok - 1850
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

 xSoulgrinderx wrote:
Adepticon speaks strictly. So I might have to follow this to the T.
It also highlights the common misconception that each player rolls their own D6 for warp charges, when it's clearly spelled out that the player whose turn it is rolls for both (e.g. at the beginning of the psychic phase, a Tau player must roll for the warp charges for both himself and a Daemon player opponent).

It seems to crop up quite a bit, so I've gotten into the habit of throwing the die anyway (even if no-one has any psykers or abilities) and disregarding the result.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 Mr. Shine wrote:
 Mavlun wrote:
1. If a Culexus Assassin tosses a psyk-out grenade, and the enemy Warlord that is a Psyker and is in that unit, dies as a result of the Perils of the Warp result, do you receive an extra VP at the end of the game?

Psi-Shock: If a unit containing at least one Psyker (i.e. a model with the Psyker, Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers or Psychic Pilot special rule) is hit by a weapon with the Psi-shock special rule, one randomly determined Psyker model in that unit suffers Perils of the Warp in addition to any other damage.


Operation Assassinate: If the mission you are playing uses Victory Points, you receive one bonus Victory Point at the end of the game if the enemy's Warlord was removed as a casualty as a result of a Wound inflicted by a model with this special rule


EDIT -

This one is iffy per RAW because while Perils of the Warp is caused as a result of the model hitting the enemy Warlord it's not clear that it is the model inflicting any subsequent Wounds. If we assume it is the model granting the effects of Perils of the Warp to the enemy Warlord it's a bit silly to take it that you have granted the enemy Warlord a 3+ Invulnerable save as well as the Fleshbane, Armourbane and Smash special rules, for example.

HIWPI is to probably allow it, though.

Naaris wrote:
I get the first line. But what if their are no psykers within 12? You'd just be left with up to 3 dice from your own pool, right? So what if you're not a pysker race but you added a culexus as a formation? Would you roll d6 at the start of your psychic phase? Just to get the culexus 3 potential shots of the speculum? Right?


Strictly speaking it is a requirement to resolve the Psychic phase even if you do not have any psykers in your army. So yes, you would roll for your number of Warp Charge points and you could use those even if you had no psykers.

Any pysker within 12" is -3Ld and lets say is ML3. When the opponent's pychic phase starts they would not include those 3 dice to their dice pool? Right? Does the last part mean that if they cast a spell they need a 6 rather than a 4? right?


Correct.


I know it's iffy per RAW, that's why I'm getting people's opinions
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: