Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/05 22:29:46
Subject: Question about Cover and Pods
|
 |
Frenzied Juggernaut
|
Question - Can a player who is facing an interceptor army, like Tau Riptide wings, take a drop pod with grav cents, drop the pod nearby, but then deploy the Cents into a building or ruin?
This essentially gives the Tau player 2 choices - Shoot at the pod, or the cents now in cover.
The question is, does disembarking from a transport disallow you from putting your models into cover to avoid getting ST 7 AP2 'd to death via interceptor?
Is this a feasible way for a grav cent pod to avoid getting over watched from interceptor?
They will be shot at while in ruins 4+ but will be able to hopefully make a save or two and shoot back.
|
37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods
35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth
15,000pts - Firehawks
10,000 pts - Nighthaunt
 
Dkok - 1850
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/05 22:38:25
Subject: Question about Cover and Pods
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
If the Centurion unit is embarked upon the Drop Pod they must follow the rules for disembarking as per Drop Pod Assault and the normal disembarking rules.
Provided you deployed them from the Drop Pod per the rules and they were able to make it into cover this would not be a problem.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/05 22:44:24
Subject: Question about Cover and Pods
|
 |
Frenzied Juggernaut
|
I figured as much, now here is the kicker.
What if its a building and not ruins?
Say I drop a pod next to an unclaimed bunker or bastion. Can you embark into a building after disembarking from a transport. Effectively just ending your movement in another spot and declaring an embarkation?
|
37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods
35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth
15,000pts - Firehawks
10,000 pts - Nighthaunt
 
Dkok - 1850
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/05 22:47:09
Subject: Question about Cover and Pods
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
You must end your disembark move wholly within 6" of the Access Point.
It would be impossible to measure to within 6" of the Access Point from models that are not on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/05 22:50:26
Subject: Question about Cover and Pods
|
 |
Frenzied Juggernaut
|
Right?!
The thought goes like this -
1) pod enters next to building (6" or less)
2) dudes get out and stand next to building door (6" or less)
3) Dudes end their movement within access range wholly.
4) Profit from inside the building???
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/05 22:50:34
37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods
35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth
15,000pts - Firehawks
10,000 pts - Nighthaunt
 
Dkok - 1850
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/05 22:54:39
Subject: Question about Cover and Pods
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
xSoulgrinderx wrote:Right?!
The thought goes like this -
1) pod enters next to building (6" or less)
2) dudes get out and stand next to building door (6" or less)
3) Dudes end their movement within access range wholly.
4) Profit from inside the building???
That's not how disembarking works, though. You place a model in base contact with the Access Point and then it may make a normal move, but must end that move wholly within 6" of the Access Point it disembarked from.
In your situation the building's Access Point may be within 6" of the Drop Pod's access point, but the building's Access Point is not the disembarking models. The disembarking models therefore are not wholly within 6" of the Drop Pod's Access Point as required.
EDIT:
Far more straightforward is the following from the beginning of "Embarking and Disembarking":
"Models can only voluntarily embark or disembark in the Movement phase. They cannot voluntarily embark and disembark in the same turn. However, they can embark and then be forced to disembark if their Transport is destroyed."
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/05 23:06:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/02/06 05:25:46
Subject: Question about Cover and Pods
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
That last line. You cannot disembark and then embark on the same turn.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
|