Switch Theme:

Death masque Harlequins, and dedicated transports.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Corvallis, OR

I got the Death masque harlequins, and was wondering if the Deaths companions, and Company of the Threefold Stranger can take a Starweaver for a transport?
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Illinois

Just play unbound using the Death Masque formation and 2 starweavers that count as fast attack choices. They won't get the formation rules but as long as you pay the points in your list it's perfectly legal.

“Rumours are naught but lies given shape by the foolish tongues of the ignorant. Ignorance begets heresy. Heresy begets retribution.” -Regimental Standard
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






A) Depends on whether there is a restriction in the formation. If the formation does not state that you cannot take a DT, then the Troupe units can as a part of their options.

B)zeragrin is absolutely wrong about the formation not getting its rules if you go unbound: Formation rules always apply in unbound it is only command benefits that are lost. Both the unbound rules and Formation rules state this quite clearly. Unless he was specifically talking about the starweavers not getting the formation benefits; the "they" was a little vague.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/24 04:52:08


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

 strugglingfish wrote:
I got the Death masque harlequins, and was wondering if the Deaths companions, and Company of the Threefold Stranger can take a Starweaver for a transport?


The Datasheets for those units will tell you if a Starweaver is an option for them.
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

Dra'al Nacht wrote:
 strugglingfish wrote:
I got the Death masque harlequins, and was wondering if the Deaths companions, and Company of the Threefold Stranger can take a Starweaver for a transport?


The Datasheets for those units will tell you if a Starweaver is an option for them.

And it's not. Those two unique Troop units have no options available to them, the only way to give them transports is via the previous suggestion and run unbound.
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






The two troupes in death masque can't take a dedicated Weaver but they can be slotted into a regular masque formation from codex harlequins giving you two fast attack slots for weavers.

Not that it matters the best way to run harlys is on foot with a shadowseer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/24 12:05:13


3000
1500
2200 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Ah, I didn't realize that they had special Army List Entries; I just assumed they were normal Troops Troupes.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I think the intent of this formation is precisely to be used without transport: eldrad can give scout to D3 unit (from his warlord trait), and the troupes can run+charge or run+shoot. So you have the mobility (it's just that you have to sustain a round of shooting outside a transport).
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Illinois

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
A) Depends on whether there is a restriction in the formation. If the formation does not state that you cannot take a DT, then the Troupe units can as a part of their options.

B)zeragrin is absolutely wrong about the formation not getting its rules if you go unbound: Formation rules always apply in unbound it is only command benefits that are lost. Both the unbound rules and Formation rules state this quite clearly. Unless he was specifically talking about the starweavers not getting the formation benefits; the "they" was a little vague.


I was referring to the Starweavers. The starweavers as they are chosen as unbound units DO NOT gain any extra rules from the formation. I said nothing about the formation losing it's rules.

Edited to be less snarky.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/24 16:56:18


“Rumours are naught but lies given shape by the foolish tongues of the ignorant. Ignorance begets heresy. Heresy begets retribution.” -Regimental Standard
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Not being part of a formation alone generally means you do not get the benefits of that formation.

A bound or unbound army does not matter in this case.

Take for example a friend of mine plays Eldar, if he takes an aspect shrine formation and also takes a dire avengers shrine he wouldn't be getting +2 bs( or +1 bs from the avengers shrine and +1ws from the aspect shrine) on his avengers shrine units.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Illinois

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Not being part of a formation alone generally means you do not get the benefits of that formation.

A bound or unbound army does not matter in this case.

Take for example a friend of mine plays Eldar, if he takes an aspect shrine formation and also takes a dire avengers shrine he wouldn't be getting +2 bs( or +1 bs from the avengers shrine and +1ws from the aspect shrine) on his avengers shrine units.


I'm glad we both agree that my initial statement was in fact not wrong, thank you for making sure people were clear.

“Rumours are naught but lies given shape by the foolish tongues of the ignorant. Ignorance begets heresy. Heresy begets retribution.” -Regimental Standard
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: