The
BRB lists Flamer Weapons on p176. There is flavour text as well as several profiles.
The
CSM FAQ says:
Q: Is a baleflamer considered to be a flamer weapon?
A: No.
The Ork
FAQ says:
Q: Is the burna a flamer weapon or do Ork burnas use some daemonic flames that Salamanders can’t handle?
A: As specified in the Appendix, burnas are flamer weapons for the purposes of rules which interact with flamer weapons as described in Warhammer 40,000: The Rules. Salamanders get their Flamecraft Chapter Tactics bonus against any flamer weapons as described in Warhammer 40,000: The Rules, so this includes burnas.
Neither "Baleflamer" nor "Burna" is listed in the
BRB as a flamer. Is this ruling completely arbitrary? Is there any
RAW support for it? Or is
GW just arbitrarily nerfing/buffing as they see fit?