Switch Theme:

Silly question about modifiers.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte





London

Let's take the Stormhawk Interceptor and its Icarus Stormcannon, "Add 1 to hit rolls for targets that can Fly"

Does it mean a roll of 2 becomes a 3 or I add 1 attack?

Edit: Bonus question: I can't find a reason why i would want to Hover...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/01 00:58:13


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Gendo wrote:
Let's take the Stormhawk Interceptor and its Icarus Stormcannon, "Add 1 to hit rolls for targets that can Fly"

Does it mean a roll of 2 becomes a 3 or I add 1 attack?

Edit: Bonus question: I can't find a reason why i would want to Hover...


You add 1 to your hit rolls, not that you get to roll an additional hit dice.

And you mainly choose to Hover when you don't want to be forced to move a certain direction (or distance).




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Here is what the rule actually says...

Add 1 to all hit rolls made for this weapon against targets that can FLY.

The exact wording makes it clear. As yakface said, you add 1 to your hit rolls.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The interceptor itself also has +1 to hit rolls against units which have the fly keyword in the shooting phase. So you would add +2 against flyers, if you shoot with the Icarus stormcannon.
   
Made in gb
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte





London

p5freak wrote:
The interceptor itself also has +1 to hit rolls against units which have the fly keyword in the shooting phase. So you would add +2 against flyers, if you shoot with the Icarus stormcannon.


Really? So hitting on a 5+...would've thought flyers to be better vs flyers :(

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Gendo wrote:
p5freak wrote:
The interceptor itself also has +1 to hit rolls against units which have the fly keyword in the shooting phase. So you would add +2 against flyers, if you shoot with the Icarus stormcannon.


Really? So hitting on a 5+...would've thought flyers to be better vs flyers :(
No? You don't become worse by adding this way. It's adding to the dice roll, not the statistic. When you add 1 to hit for a BS3+ model, you're effectively hitting on a 2+ instead, because your final result is 2 plus 1, which equals 3, thus satisfies the need to hit for a BS3+ model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/01 21:42:36


 
   
Made in gb
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte





London

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Gendo wrote:
p5freak wrote:
The interceptor itself also has +1 to hit rolls against units which have the fly keyword in the shooting phase. So you would add +2 against flyers, if you shoot with the Icarus stormcannon.


Really? So hitting on a 5+...would've thought flyers to be better vs flyers :(
No? You don't become worse by adding this way. It's adding to the dice roll, not the statistic. When you add 1 to hit for a BS3+ model, you're effectively hitting on a 2+ instead, because your final result is 2 plus 1, which equals 3, thus satisfies the need to hit for a BS3+ model.


HaHa, thanks I was confused as I usually post after my chill drink(s) post work and frustration from 8th doesn't help

 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Any flyer which is hard to hit, and not hovering, has -1 to hit. So, if you shoot with the interceptor and the icarus gun, it is +1 to hit, because +2-1=+1. You hit on 3+.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/02 11:45:00


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: