Switch Theme:

Unit in a transport question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If a unit is embarked on a transport is that unit considered one model for the shooting phase? What I'm asking is say your opponent has a three open topped vehicles can they shoot with the vehicle shoot with another vehicle then shoot with the unit embarked in the first vehicle that already shot? Or does one vehicle and it's embarked unit have to finish it's shooting before you move to the next one?
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker



Philadelphia, PA

 scythewing wrote:
If a unit is embarked on a transport is that unit considered one model for the shooting phase? What I'm asking is say your opponent has a three open topped vehicles can they shoot with the vehicle shoot with another vehicle then shoot with the unit embarked in the first vehicle that already shot? Or does one vehicle and it's embarked unit have to finish it's shooting before you move to the next one?


I see nothing in the Transports section of the BRB or the Open-topped rule to indicate that embarked units and their transports are considered to be one model when it comes to shooting. Also, there's nothing in the Open-topped rule that changes the normal Shooting Phase sequence, so I see no reason that the embarked unit can't be selected to fire at any point during the shooting phase.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Clemson SC

Unless he did that to gain some advantage I don't see it as a critical issue. But The Transport and Open-Topped rules read such that normally units in a transport can do nothing, and even deploy at the same time as the transport if they want (dropped during deployment as one model/unit/blobbything)

Open-topped refers to "models" being able to shoot from the transport. Not units. I don't see an explicit yay or nay in the rules but RAI would appear to be that you resolve the shooting coming from the vehicle all at once, ie. in matched play you would especially want to complete all shooting of the vehicle/embarked models before resolving or declaring other shooting elsewhere on the field.

3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts

How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
 
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker



Philadelphia, PA

 Overheal wrote:
Unless he did that to gain some advantage I don't see it as a critical issue. But The Transport and Open-Topped rules read such that normally units in a transport can do nothing, and even deploy at the same time as the transport if they want (dropped during deployment as one model/unit/blobbything)


It doesn't say that they become one model or unit or anything like that, though. Nowhere is there any indication that a unit ceases to be a unit once it's embarked.

 Overheal wrote:
Open-topped refers to "models" being able to shoot from the transport. Not units.


This is consistent with the wording in the core shooting rules, where we find this as the very first sentence under the first header (BRB, p. 179): "In your Shooting phase you can shoot with models armed with ranged weapons." It never has to tell us that these models are part of a unit, because the definition of "unit" is one of the very first things in the core rules. (BRB, p. 176: "Models move and fight in units, made up of one or more models.") The Open-topped rule isn't revoking a unit's status as a unit, telling us that transports and their embarked units form brand new units, or changing the general shooting rules. The Open-topped rule is permitting embarked models to fire using language similar to that in the core rules for shooting.

 Overheal wrote:
I don't see an explicit yay or nay in the rules but RAI would appear to be that you resolve the shooting coming from the vehicle all at once, ie. in matched play you would especially want to complete all shooting of the vehicle/embarked models before resolving or declaring other shooting elsewhere on the field.


The rules are explicit, in the sense that nowhere is it stated or implied that embarked units cease being units or that their models become part of a brand new unit that includes the transport and any other models embarked on it. None of the language in the Transports section (BRB, p. 183) even implies that embarked units cease being units, and in fact clearly suggests the opposite. (Phrases like "embarked units" and "units ... embarked" indicate that embarked units are still units.)
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Of course it's to get an advantage. When you're dumping Lance shots into transports one after the other to pop them then go back with the embarked models to shoot the guys who were inside. I've always thought and maybe it's just that I have previous editions in my head but when you shoot with a transport the guys inside shoot too granted now they can shoot at different things instead of the same thing like they used to.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/23 19:22:35


 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 scythewing wrote:
I've always thought and maybe it's just that I have previous editions in my head but when you shoot with a transport the guys inside shoot too granted now they can shoot at different things instead of the same thing like they used to.


It's never been the case, afaik, that a unit inside a transport has the same target restrictions as the transport itself. Unless my ork opponents have been cheating me all these years, that never applied. You pick a single unit (vehicle) and fire all its shots. Then you pick a single unit and fire all its shots at an eligible target. You're not required to pick the embarked unit next, you can pick your own units in whatever order you please.
I wouldn't say this is an "advantage so much as it's choosing appropriate targets for your weapons. OFCOURSE you want lances at vehicles and poison at the juicy insides. You'd be a bad general if you were doing it the other way round.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker



Philadelphia, PA

 scythewing wrote:
Of course it's to get an advantage. When you're dumping Lance shots into transports one after the other to pop them then go back with the embarked models to shoot the guys who were inside. I've always thought and maybe it's just that I have previous editions in my head but when you shoot with a transport the guys inside shoot too granted now they can shoot at different things instead of the same thing like they used to.


Wherever you got the idea into your head, the core shooting rules in this edition (BRB, p. 179) do not give us permission to select a group of models from different units and resolve their attacks. According to the first step, we select an eligible unit, resolve the shooting attacks for the models in that unit, and then repeat until all the units we want to shoot with have fired. There is no allowance for selecting one unit (such as a transport) and then resolving the shooting attacks for the models that make up different units (such as those embarked upon that transport). It's simply not permitted.

Neither the rules for Transports (BRB, p. 183) nor the Open-topped rules (various datasheets) change any of that. It doesn't change the composition of the relevant units, and it doesn't permit you to select one unit and then resolve the shooting attacks for models from different units.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Nothing in the Transport rules say they count as one unit.
Nothing in the Open-Topped rule says they activate as one.

Two units, two activations.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: