|
Does the shooting buff in question specifically state it effects embarked Units?
Really wish it was that easy, as the guides seem to assume it is....
Relevant Restriction in question:
Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities
that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst
the unit that has the ability is embarked.
- Transports, Page 183
So we have two restrictions to overcome:
1 ) If Fireblade is embarked as well, it is specifically denied from using this buff at all
2 ) The Embarked Strike team can not be affected in any way by outside Rules
Relevant Special Rules:
Volley Fire: Models in <SEPT> units within 6" of any friendly <SEPT> Cadre Fireblades may fire an extra shot
with pulse pistols, pulse carbines and pulse rifles when shooting at a target within half the weapon’s range.
Open-topped: Models embarked on this model can
attack in their Shooting phase. Measure the range and
draw line of sight from any point on this model. When
they do so, any restrictions or modifiers that apply to
this model also apply to its passengers; for example,
passengers cannot shoot if this model has Fallen Back
in the same turn, the passengers cannot shoot (except;
with Pistols) if this model is within 1" of an enemy unit,
and so on
The underlined is the part that I find interesting, but I believe I have seen people arguing over what a 'restriction and modifier' might actually be in the past. Given that can of worms is going to be all up to personal interpenetration, nothing I leave will matter and thus you should discuss it with your opponent. Players will have to decide for themselves if the bonus shots are a modifier that can be passed on from a Vehicle to the Embarked Unit. I just find it an interesting question as the Ports natural weapons are an entirely separate Unit that might even be detached during Turn 1. It does say these Drones operate separately after they detach, but also begins by informing us we will have to "set up a Unit" of Drones that we would obviously have to purchase to fill a different slot in the Army prior to Deployment where we set them 'into the slots' on the Port in question.
Thus I add to the wondering:
Can you target this 'attached' Drone Unit independent of the Port?
Would said attached Drone Unit benefit from the extra shot if a Cadre Fireblade was placed within 6 inches?
|