| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/15 13:24:08
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
If my vanguard vets wipe out a unit and consolidate into another unit can they use the " honor the chapter " stratagem at the end of the fight phase and attack the unit they consolidated into?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/15 13:30:38
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
TheunlikelyGamer wrote:If my vanguard vets wipe out a unit and consolidate into another unit can they use the " honor the chapter " stratagem at the end of the fight phase and attack the unit they consolidated into?
It depends. If they charged, they can only attack models in units they declared a charge at, but can be activated and pile into another unit to get within 1" but can't actually hit them. If they did not charge, they can pile in then attack any units they reach.
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2017/11/15 13:31:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/15 13:49:07
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Ok so to clarify if they were already in combat and destroy they opponents unit they can consolidate 3" into another unit and use the stratagem to attack again. Would you happen to know page numbers in the primer or codex I can reference when an opponent protests my ability to do so?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/15 13:51:49
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
TheunlikelyGamer wrote:Ok so to clarify if they were already in combat and destroy they opponents unit they can consolidate 3" into another unit and use the stratagem to attack again. Would you happen to know page numbers in the primer or codex I can reference when an opponent protests my ability to do so?
Page 182, Choose Targets Page 183, Consolidate It's not explicitly laid out in the rules per se, it's a consequence of multiple rules. The restriction for going within 1" only applies in the movement phase, pile in moves and consolidates can move you to within 1", at which point those units become legal targets for attacks and are within 1" so they can't move in their next turn bar falling back. The Choose Target rules restrict which units a charging unit may target on top of the 1" rule. If you didn't charge, there is no restriction on what units you may attack outside of the 1" rule. It doesn't matter if you started within 1", so long as you are within 1" in the Choose Targets step.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/11/15 13:53:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/15 14:58:26
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
TheunlikelyGamer wrote:Ok so to clarify if they were already in combat and destroy they opponents unit they can consolidate 3" into another unit and use the stratagem to attack again. Would you happen to know page numbers in the primer or codex I can reference when an opponent protests my ability to do so?
Agreed with BCB. If they were already in combat the tactic works. It's only if that unit had charged that turn that you couldn't do it. There's a workaround for that though - when you declare the chage against the unit you're hoping to wipe out, also declare that the unit you hope to consolidate into as an additional unit you're charging that turn. You'd have to put up with overwatch from that unit as well, but then if you wipe out the first unit you could use the stratagem to attack the second unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/15 15:01:28
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/15 23:51:50
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
That's a good idea I like that as well. Thanks for the help.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/16 08:29:49
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Now if you had declared multiple units the target of your charge (eating multiple overwatch) then yes you could use the strat to attack twice with them during your charge phase.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/16 23:41:45
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
doctortom wrote:
Agreed with BCB. If they were already in combat the tactic works. It's only if that unit had charged that turn that you couldn't do it. There's a workaround for that though - when you declare the chage against the unit you're hoping to wipe out, also declare that the unit you hope to consolidate into as an additional unit you're charging that turn. You'd have to put up with overwatch from that unit as well, but then if you wipe out the first unit you could use the stratagem to attack the second unit.
There is no need to charge multiple units. If the vets charge one unit and wipe it out, then consolidate towards another enemy unit within 1" they can attack them with the honour the chapter stratagem :
1. Choose Unit to Fight With
Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/16 23:51:59
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
p5freak wrote: doctortom wrote:
Agreed with BCB. If they were already in combat the tactic works. It's only if that unit had charged that turn that you couldn't do it. There's a workaround for that though - when you declare the chage against the unit you're hoping to wipe out, also declare that the unit you hope to consolidate into as an additional unit you're charging that turn. You'd have to put up with overwatch from that unit as well, but then if you wipe out the first unit you could use the stratagem to attack the second unit.
There is no need to charge multiple units. If the vets charge one unit and wipe it out, then consolidate towards another enemy unit within 1" they can attack them with the honour the chapter stratagem :
1. Choose Unit to Fight With
Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.
How about the next bit that says units that charged can *only* attack units they charged?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/17 00:00:44
Subject: Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
p5freak wrote: doctortom wrote:
Agreed with BCB. If they were already in combat the tactic works. It's only if that unit had charged that turn that you couldn't do it. There's a workaround for that though - when you declare the chage against the unit you're hoping to wipe out, also declare that the unit you hope to consolidate into as an additional unit you're charging that turn. You'd have to put up with overwatch from that unit as well, but then if you wipe out the first unit you could use the stratagem to attack the second unit.
There is no need to charge multiple units. If the vets charge one unit and wipe it out, then consolidate towards another enemy unit within 1" they can attack them with the honour the chapter stratagem :
1. Choose Unit to Fight With
Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.
From the Warhammer 40,000 Designer Commentary (emphasis added):
Q: If a unit piles in or consolidates into a unit it didn’t declare a charge against in the preceding Charge phase, does that unit get to fire Overwatch?
A: No.
Remember though that units that charged can only make close combat attacks against units that they declared the charge against, even if pile-in moves, etc. bring them within 1" of a different unit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/17 08:31:25
Subject: Re:Honor the chapter stratagem question.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Ok, missed that one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|