Switch Theme:

Mannfred's armor of templehof  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer




Hello

Quick question. The armor of templehof negates the first wound or mortal wound on mannfred, every turn. Does that mean it negates a total of 1 damage/ 1 mortal wound, or does it negate a multi damage wound, like a d3 or d6 damage attack? Just wanna make sure I'm using it the right way- at the moment I count it as just 1 damage..

Cheers
   
Made in gb
Screamin' Stormboy




It negates a wound, regardless of damage. It replaces a saving throw - damage is calculated after saving throws.

 
   
Made in ie
Fresh-Faced New User




So if you take a 6 damage attack (assuming its the first of the turn) you'd take 5 damage from it, you don't ignore all 6 just because its the first thing that wounded you.
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut





Looking at the rules, I would say you ignore 1 damage, because each point of damage inflicts a wound on the model
INFLICTING DAMAGE
After all of the attacks made by a unit have
been carried out, the player commanding
the target unit allocates any wounds that
are inflicted to models from the unit as they
see fit (the models do not have to be within
range or visible to an attacking unit). When
inflicting damage, if you allocate a wound
to a model, you must keep on allocating
wounds to that model until either it is slain,
or no more wounds remain to be allocated.
Once the number of wounds suffered by a
model during the battle equals its Wounds
characteristic, the model is slain. Place the
slain model to one side – it is removed from
play. Some warscrolls include abilities that
allow wounds to be healed. A healed wound
no longer has any effect. You can’t heal
wounds on a model that has been slain.

 
   
Made in dk
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer




Glad to see I'm not the only one having trouble understanding this rule.. I actually think xspire got it right. Since it says "the first wound" not "first unsaved wound". I would Also argue that it is just the first wound wich is negated, no save to take and no damage roll since both are different things than a wound. It sounds awesome being able to negate a Canon ball, but not OP since an arrow, goblin spear or a arcane bolt will take it of as well.
   
Made in gb
Screamin' Stormboy




The quote above only concerns wounds that have been taken, e.g a saving throw has been failed. The only way to take a wound is to a) fail a saving throw / fail any number of saving throws available to you, or b) it's a mortal wound. The armour negates the first wound inflicted, a better word to use in this situation would be 'wound generated' - Wounds are generated (inflicted), then they are either saved (if possible) or taken. This being the case, no damage is given / calculated. If it's 1 damage it's not taken, if it's 2 damage it's not taken, if it's D6 damage, no dice is rolled to calculate damage.

The way this rule works you should not be taking a saving throw at all, the first wound of any kind which has been generated against you, is ignored - no save needed. This part of the wording isn't exactly clear, but if you read the rules literally, as intended, the only way the situation can unfold is the way I outlined above. Wounds do not have damage values, weapons do.

EDIT:

Here's an example to make it clearer:

You take a 1 wound from a weapon that does 5 damage.

You make your saving throw.

You then take 0 damage because you passed your saving throw, you don't then take 4 damage instead.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/30 01:04:13


 
   
 
Forum Index » AoS Tactics, Army Lists & Rules Questions
Go to: