Switch Theme:

A few newbie questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger





Oxfordshire , UK

Hi all!

I’m giving some serious thought to getting into AoS (specifically Sylvaneth) but have a couple of questions. Forgive me if these are stupid!

1) On the warscrolls (I.e. the Branchwraith) it says they know the two standard spells plus one on their warscroll. As I understand it, in the actual Sylvaneth Battletome there is a Deepwood magic lore where you can also assign another spell. Does this mean that each Branchwraith knows up to 4 spells (but obviously only gets to cast one per turn)?

2) Do hero abilities / command abilities with an aura (like what the treelord ancients have) also count the treelord ancient itself as what happens in 40k?

Thanks in advance!
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

1. Yes; every wizard knows the two basic spells, and the wych gets the one on her scroll, plus the one out of the book (if you’re playing in one of the realms out of Malign Sorcery, she knows all the spells of that realm too).
2. Yes, unless it says “all other units within X inches” then it includes itself as well.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in gb
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger





Oxfordshire , UK

Ah that’s really helpful. Thanks mate. Couldn’t find an answer in the core rules.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oh actually in my original example it would have been 5 powers. The standard two, the one in the warscroll, the main power in the Deepwood lore and the one in that lore that you choose.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/22 08:49:46


 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




UK

Just note that Sylvanath has new Battletome ready to go but its held up in a customs issue so GW can't get at it yet. So the current rules for them are set to change at any moment. There's also some very neat dice for them and 3 Endless Spells all wrapped up in the launch.

A Blog in Miniature - now featuring reviews of many new Black Library books (latest Novellas) 
   
Made in gb
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger





Oxfordshire , UK

Hehe yeah saw the leaks on 1d4chan so all looks really good!
   
 
Forum Index » AoS War Council
Go to: