Switch Theme:

Army formations and stuff  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg



Duluth

Im running death guard and instead of running poxwalkers/typhus i wanted to take a daemon detachment and still be "Battle-Forged". How do i do this? I had thought i could just run an entire group under "nurgle", but i'm pretty sure that was FAQ'd? Like how you can't run an army under chaos/imperium etc. I had wanted to run a Great Unclean One as itself or as Scabeiathrax, with a couple groups of plaguebearers and maybe a couple other things, but i'm really unsure of the rulings on how to do this! Thanks!
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




You just have to make sure that each detachment contains only models from one faction. So you could take a Deathguard detachment- say a brigade. You could then take another detachment of Daemons- maybe a battalion.

You're good.

If, however, you put a single daemon unit in your deathguard detachment or a single deathguard unit in your daemon detachment, you lose battleforged.

   
Made in us
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg



Duluth

Okay, do i have to run the whole army as "Nurgle" then? No demons have the Death Guard key word, but all or at least the ones i want to run have Nurgle.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran



NE Ohio, USA

Yes.
Or any other key word they have in common other than "chaos".
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Canada

PenitentJake wrote:
You just have to make sure that each detachment contains only models from one faction. So you could take a Deathguard detachment- say a brigade. You could then take another detachment of Daemons- maybe a battalion.

You're good.

If, however, you put a single daemon unit in your deathguard detachment or a single deathguard unit in your daemon detachment, you lose battleforged.



Don't listen to this it's wrong/misleading information.

Eldar, chaos, imperium, Tyranids are the keywords you can't use for detachments. Every other faction keyword is fair game.

Feel free to use nurgle and tzeentch but take note the penalty is simply not getting your detachment bonus and no access to stratagems (unless you have another detachment that unlocks them)

Only some deathguard and thousand sons units care about there chapter tactic anyway so seeing tzeentch/nurgle battalions etc is common in competitive play.

So in a 2k list you could have a nurgle vanguard , a deathguard battalion and a nurgle deamons supreme command and use both deathguard and deamons stratagems
If you had a deathguard and a nurgle detachment you could only use deathguard stratagems for example even though you have plaguebearer and what not in your list.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2019/09/11 02:01:01


 
   
Made in de
Waaagh! Ork Warboss on Warbike





PenitentJake wrote:
You just have to make sure that each detachment contains only models from one faction. So you could take a Deathguard detachment- say a brigade. You could then take another detachment of Daemons- maybe a battalion.

You're good.

If, however, you put a single daemon unit in your deathguard detachment or a single deathguard unit in your daemon detachment, you lose battleforged.


Not true. If you put NURGLE Daemons into a Death Guard detachment or vice versa, you lose access to stratagems(assuming no other detachment unlocks them), Locus of Nurgle and Inexorable Advance. You army is still battle forged.
Same is true for mixing any other kind of daemons with chaos space marines following the same god.

What you cannot do is put something like blood letters into one detachment with Death Guard, as they share no keywords but CHAOS.

 Daedalus81 wrote:
SemperMortis wrote:
Yes, because everyone lines up on the deployment line when facing off against orkz, especially when said orkz are fielding 3 Bonebreakers...which rely exclusively on getting into CC to inflict any kind of actual harm. All of your arguments rely upon your opponent being a brain dead muppet who just lets you maul him.


Yea...that's called board control.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: