Switch Theme:

Ork kill tank abilities - free or paid as if wargear?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

I've made the neccessary incantations to search the subforum, but the omnissiah privileged me to no epiphany. As such, it is with due reverence I approach you, the forum elderseers, for assistance.

I wish to take part in a build off challenge for ork kill tanks on the Facebook ork group. Naturally this imbibed me with the excited impetus to start list building.

While calculating points I came across an oddity.

The ork kill tanks have the abilities 'grot riggers' and 'reinforced ram'. These abilities do not appear in the tank's wargear entry. It seems other dataslates have the option to take wargear upgrades named similarly to these abilities (also named 'grot riggers' and 'reinforced ram').

Should the kill tank pay the wargear price for it's abilities even though they aren't listed as wargear in the tank's dataslate? Or as these abilities aren't listed as wargear for the kill tank are the abilities already baked into the starting price of the kill tank?

Are the wargear grot riggers/reinforced ram completely different rules to the kill tank's abilities and they just happen to share the same name?

Bonus question, the stompa has an ability called 'grot rigger crew'. Does it need to pay for 'grot riggers' (again missing from the dataslate's wargear entry) or is this ability also considered something separate to 'grot rigger' wargear too?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/19 09:49:42


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The "Grot Riggers" rule for the kill tank does not have anything to do with the "Grot rigger" form the "Battlewagon equipment" list on P. 83 of the Ork Dex.

I do not see a "reinforced ram" anywhere in the Ork Codex.


Bonus question, the Stompa, on P. 117 of the Ork Codex, has an ability called "Stompa Rigger Crew" not 'grot rigger crew'.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

The Kill Tank is a FW Index Xenos unit.

It has those abilities included and they don’t cost extra points. They’re not listed as optional wargear in this instance. Or maybe you do have to pay for them as they appear in the points list? FW wrote these books in a lunch break and they are NOT well proofed!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/19 11:56:00


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: