Switch Theme:

"Deep striking" and charging source needed.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dangerous Duet






Hi people !
So I was searching for a source that would indicate if charging on the same turn a unit deployed from reserve was possible.
It's for a friend of mine who hasn't played since 7ed.

 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Khornate25 wrote:
Hi people !
So I was searching for a source that would indicate if charging on the same turn a unit deployed from reserve was possible.
It's for a friend of mine who hasn't played since 7ed.


You can do it.

Theres no rule explicitly saying so, because there doesn't need to be.

A model normally can charge, and deep striking doesn't place any restriction on that.

Note that there is no universal "Deep Strike" rule in 8e, every unit thay can do this sort of thing has it's own unique rule (even if the text of that rule is usually identical, occasionally there are variations). The term Deep Strike is just used by the community as a holdover from 7e. There are some general rules around arriving as reserves though, which will generally apply.

One thing regularly trips up new players here is that if you cannot deploy within 9" of an enemy, you will need to roll at least a 9 on your charge roll to get within 1". If an 8 gets you within 1", then logically you must have started within 9" and so deployed illegally.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/23 10:57:38


 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





I can't remember where it is mentioned, and there are so many documents now to go through them all but the "You can't move for any reason when deepstriking except charge" is what your looking for.

Hopefully someone else remembers where this bit is mentioned.
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest






https://www.warhammer-community.com/faqs/?orderby=post_created&order=desc#warhammer-40000

It’s in the rule book FAQ and errata, page 11 under “Reinforcements”, sixth question.

Q. The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.).
Can such a unit make a charge move? Can it pile in
and consolidate?
A: Yes to both questions – the unit can declare a charge and make a charge move, and if it is chosen to fight, it can pile in and consolidate.

   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

And while the FAQ does explicitly answer the question, it's a "silly question" included for those suffering Edition Lag since the Reinforcements rules already says you can charge.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

The RAW quite literally states you are allowed to charge. You are allowed to charge. No argument possible.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/24 22:29:48


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





well he can't arque against everybody else by sticking to raw here so to get to arque he goes against raw here.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in ca
Dangerous Duet






Thank you all for your answers !

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: