Switch Theme:

Did we play this right? Odd Primarch on Primarch rules interaction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Leicester

So my brothers new Tsons took on my Ultramarines last night

During the hell of it all, Gman charged Magnus and failed to kill him

When Magnus struck back, he killed Guilliman creating a chaos Spawn (as the weapon states it does when a character model is destroyed.

Guilliman was removed from the board as instructed, and a spawn was placed in his position.

When Guilliman then immediately (having been reduced to 0 wounds and killed) rolled to come back and did so successfully with 5 wounds, we placed him 1.5” away from the spawn as the rule states “as close as possible outside of 1”

Was this right guys? Just checking
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

Can you post the exact rules? That'll help us determine whether you did it by the books.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Leicester

Of course 1 sec
   
Made in gb
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Leicester

These photos should suffice hopefully


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I draw attention to the blades of magnus weapon profile (bottom screenshot 1) and Gman’s armour of fate (top of image 2)
[Thumb - 7102587C-16C4-4774-AD9B-19D38D2D91E9.png]

[Thumb - C136162C-9B0B-465F-9ABB-BBA94BBA9B0F.png]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/09 00:58:45


 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

Yeah. Seems like you did it right to me.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Leicester

Thanks dude, if anyone has an interpretation to the contrary please lemme know for next time
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Seems like a very odd rules interaction, and I don’t think it makes a lot of sense, narrative-wise.

That being said, I think you’ve applied the rules correctly.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yeah, you did it right. Guilliman was destroyed so his Armour of Fate rule kicks in. The fact that narratively he was turned into a spawn doesn't change how the rules work. So it's weird from a background point of view but you were correct from the rules point of view.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Yup, those rules seem to be applied correctly.

Narratively speaking, just... assume Tzeentch sent his boy Magnus a friend from elsewhere when he couldn't spawn it from Gmans not-quite-dead body.

A warp portal randomly opening up and spitting out a Chaos Spawn at the feet of Magnus as a common tier gacha reward from Tzeentch for sort of killing his brother would definitely not be the weirdest jank to happen in 40k lore.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





The Armour of Fate captured Guilliman's escaping life energy, but not before some of it could be siphoned off and twisting into a warp abomination.

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Slipspace wrote:
Yeah, you did it right. Guilliman was destroyed so his Armour of Fate rule kicks in. The fact that narratively he was turned into a spawn doesn't change how the rules work. So it's weird from a background point of view but you were correct from the rules point of view.
Weird, the rules posted do not say that the blade turns the character into a spawn, just that you get to place a spawn when you kill a character.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/10 06:30:28


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
Slipspace wrote:
Yeah, you did it right. Guilliman was destroyed so his Armour of Fate rule kicks in. The fact that narratively he was turned into a spawn doesn't change how the rules work. So it's weird from a background point of view but you were correct from the rules point of view.
Weird, the rules posted do not say that the blade turns the character into a spawn, just that you get to place a spawn when you kill a character.

The fluff text makes it clear that this is what is happening from a narrative perspective.
Thousand Sons Codex page 34 wrote:For those not instantly reduced to a pool of gore or puff of flame an even worse fate awaits - the encsorcelled staff mutates the riven flesh of its victims, infusing them with empyric power to birth writhing Chaso Spawn

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Bilge Rat wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Slipspace wrote:
Yeah, you did it right. Guilliman was destroyed so his Armour of Fate rule kicks in. The fact that narratively he was turned into a spawn doesn't change how the rules work. So it's weird from a background point of view but you were correct from the rules point of view.
Weird, the rules posted do not say that the blade turns the character into a spawn, just that you get to place a spawn when you kill a character.

The fluff text makes it clear that this is what is happening from a narrative perspective.
Thousand Sons Codex page 34 wrote:For those not instantly reduced to a pool of gore or puff of flame an even worse fate awaits - the encsorcelled staff mutates the riven flesh of its victims, infusing them with empyric power to birth writhing Chaso Spawn
That still does not say the character is turned into a spawn, just that the character births a writhing Chaos Spawn.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





A Chaos Spawn is birthed from the character's flesh, i.e. their corporeal remains turn into one.

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Bilge Rat wrote:
A Chaos Spawn is birthed from the character's flesh, i.e. their corporeal remains turn into one.
That is not what it says, but it doesn't matter, that is fluff and not rules.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

Does it matter one way or another? The flavor text is clear. The rules are clear. They may contradict each other, but it doesn't stop you from playing the game correctly.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






 alextroy wrote:
Does it matter one way or another? The flavor text is clear. The rules are clear. They may contradict each other, but it doesn't stop you from playing the game correctly.


Yeah, I'm not sure why there was an argument over flavor vs rules. It's like arguing that a Necron Destroyer should be able to one shot a Land Raider because there's a story in an old codex saying it punched through both sides of one and destroyed it with a single shot. (While theatrically it would be awesome if it could, it would make for terrible gameplay.)
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

DeathReapter,
Guilliman was having a bad enough of a day before having to give birth to a Choas Spawn... he prefer we do not speak anymore about that.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: