Switch Theme:

Targeting Protocols and Armorium Cherub  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Maybe another stupid Q.

At the start of your Shooting phase, select one friendly IRON HANDS unit within 6" of this Warlord. Once that phase, when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that unit, you can re-roll the hit roll. Once that phase, when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that unit, you can reroll the wound roll. Once that phase, when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that
unit, you can re-roll the damage roll.


Based on the wording here would you agree that this does not apply to an armorium cherub's attacks with a MM?



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/21 20:33:12


   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

What is MM ?? Multimelta ? Armorium cherubs dont have guns
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
What is MM ?? Multimelta ? Armorium cherubs dont have guns

Devestators can take a cherub, which allows one of them (possibly armed with a multi-melta) to fire again in the shooting phase.

I don't see why the effects of the stated warlord trait couldn't be applied to that bonus attack, although you would still be limited to doing each part once in the shooting phase overall so I am not seeing how that is an advantage.

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

The attack is not made by an Armorium Cherub; the Cherub allows a Devastator to attack again. This stratagem would function on the extra attack made by a Devastator.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in gb
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander






London

Everyone's being a bit pedantic here, it's rather clear he's referring to the Cherub's ability to let a model fire twice. Given that it lasts until the end of the phase, I'd say it would work.

   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

 Daedalus81 wrote:
Maybe another stupid Q.
At the start of your Shooting phase, select one friendly IRON HANDS unit within 6" of this Warlord. Once that phase, when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that unit, you can re-roll the hit roll. Once that phase, when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that unit, you can reroll the wound roll. Once that phase, when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that unit, you can re-roll the damage roll.

Based on the wording here would you agree that this does not apply to an armorium cherub's attacks with a MM?
No. As noted by others, the Armorium Cherub does not attack, it allows one model in the unit to shoot again with one of its ranged weapons. Assuming the Devastator unit was the selected unit, it would be allowed to utilize any of the once per phase re-roll of hit roll, wound roll, or damage roll that was not used by the unit during its prior attacks.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





I didn't mean to literally say the cherub's attack, but rather the attacks provided by using the cherub. Apologies for the confusion.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 alextroy wrote:
No. As noted by others, the Armorium Cherub does not attack, it allows one model in the unit to shoot again with one of its ranged weapons. Assuming the Devastator unit was the selected unit, it would be allowed to utilize any of the once per phase re-roll of hit roll, wound roll, or damage roll that was not used by the unit during its prior attacks.


To make sure I have it right --

The MM shoots two shots ( because "attack" means all shots from that weapon ). The opponent rerolls one of the shots, wounds twice, then rerolls both damage rolls. Then he uses the cherub. He can no longer reroll any hits or damage, but can do so on to wound rolls.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/04/22 17:17:52


   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

Heavy 2 means you make two attacks.

NUMBER OF ATTACKS
When a model shoots a ranged weapon, it will make a number of attacks. You make one hit roll for each attack being made.
The number of attacks that a model makes with a ranged weapon is equal to the number written on that weapon’s profile after its type.


Targeting protocols says : "...when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that unit...." So its for one attack, not both. If you already used your rerolls for the hit and damage, you only have the wound reroll left for one attack from the cherub.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/22 20:34:12


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
Heavy 2 means you make two attacks.

NUMBER OF ATTACKS
When a model shoots a ranged weapon, it will make a number of attacks. You make one hit roll for each attack being made.
The number of attacks that a model makes with a ranged weapon is equal to the number written on that weapon’s profile after its type.


Targeting protocols says : "...when resolving an attack made with a ranged weapon by a model from that unit...." So its for one attack, not both. If you already used your rerolls for the hit and damage, you only have the wound reroll left for one attack from the cherub.

p5freak is correct, once you use the rerolls for the hit and damage, you only have the wound reroll left. (for that phase/strat usage).

You can only re-roll 1 hit roll, 1 wound roll, and 1 damage roll that phase with the Strat.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2021/04/22 21:48:13


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
You can only re-roll 1 hit roll, 1 wound roll, and 1 damage roll that phase with the Strat.
I concur. One re-roll for each type of roll (hit, wound, damage) for Targeting Protocols for that unit during that phase, although it is a warlord trait rather than a stratagem.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






You would be allowed to get another reroll in each phase, so 1 for the movement phase, 1 for the pychic phase, 1 for shooting phase, 1 for overwatch in the charge phase, and 1 for the fight phase.

There isnt any units that can shoot or fight in every phase of the game yet, but you never know.

With marines you could technically fire in the movement phase (with auspex scan), the shooting phase, the charge phase (with overwatch), and fight in the fight phase.

You could also fire in the opponent psychic phase if he kills a model and you have the shoot on death banner.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





You trigger the ability at the start of your shooting phase and it affects "that phase" only.

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: