Switch Theme:

Tyranids vs NEW Drukhari 2000pt Written Battle Report (Text and Image only)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Hello internet! I have finished another battle report. This time I face off against the new Dark Eldar.

What oh what were GW thinking???


Read all about it here:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Tyranids/comments/mwdqe5/tyranids_vs_new_drukhari_2000pt_written_battle/


Please let me know what you think and good luck in your future games. For the Hive Mind!
   
Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba






GW doing a lucille bluth voice "Well how many liquifiers could someone put in a list? Seven?"

"I can't believe all these tryhard WAACs out there just care about winning all the time when it's supposed to be a game for fun!!!!!!! Also here's my 27 page essay on why marines are OP and Orkz should get a bunch of OP rules so I can win more games

-the_scotsman"

-ERJAK 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Yeah. In general I don't like it when the game comes down to spamming one weapon or unit. Assault cannons in 4th edition, 6-8 eldar flyers in 8th, etc. When those skew lists start outperforming more TAC lists it usually points that something is above the curve.
   
Made in nl
Been Around the Block




I was rooting for you to pull of a surprise win, but that was just a total slaughter fest... So brutal. Let's see if GW has the awareness to fix this gimmick quickly, because I can't see it being fun or healthy for more competitive minded players.
   
Made in no
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






Oslo Norway

This was a great commercial for not getting back into current 40k. What a disgusting rules misery GW have managed to create. How could they look at that interaction and think "10 pts sounds about right"?

Onepage40k or older editions only for me

   
Made in gb
Sister Oh-So Repentia




United Kingdom

Can you explain your opponent's CP to me?

From re-reading my rules book to make sure it should be:

Start with 12 as at strikeforce size (1001-2000pts)

Pay 3 cp for the battalion detachment and 4 cp for the two patrol detachments. He then gets 3cp back for his warlord being part of the battalion detachment.

So that would leave him at 7cp to start with, not 11. He then spends 3cp to put his grotesques into reserves leaving him with 4cp, going up to 5 at the start of his first turn. He also doesn't have just patrol detachments, he has 1 battalion and 2 patrol, which means he can't make use of Raiding Force to ignore the cp cost.

It doesn't really make much difference to what is a pretty nasty list, but I thought it was worth pointing out. Of course if I'm wrong about that, then I take it back.

PS: Also, can you stack the coven bonus like that? I thought it would affect everything in EACH detachment once. Not each detachment affecting each other's units for a 3x bonus. I've not got or seen the new DE book, though.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2021/04/26 09:44:11


   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Regarding my opponent's CP:

Drukhari get patrols for free.

RAW, the detachment their warlord is in still refunds them CP. So they start with the base 12, +2 for the refund from their warlord, but they pay 0 for the three detachments. So they start with 14.

He spent 3 cp on extra relics and warlord traits. So he ended up with 11 cp.
   
Made in gb
Sister Oh-So Repentia




United Kingdom

RandomHeretic wrote:
Regarding my opponent's CP:

Drukhari get patrols for free.

RAW, the detachment their warlord is in still refunds them CP. So they start with the base 12, +2 for the refund from their warlord, but they pay 0 for the three detachments. So they start with 14.

He spent 3 cp on extra relics and warlord traits. So he ended up with 11 cp.


Thanks for the clarification. Do you know how the coven bonus works?

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




What I know is that his whole army gets +1 to wound and +1 damage for every range weapon. This is the Dark Technomancer buff, and it effects every unit whether they are in a transport or not. Because none of them roll to hit there is no downside other than range.
   
Made in eu
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Ireland

Great write up. Pity you got were against such a nasty list. I'm sure it will be faqed though.

   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

RandomHeretic wrote:
Regarding my opponent's CP:

Drukhari get patrols for free.

RAW, the detachment their warlord is in still refunds them CP. So they start with the base 12, +2 for the refund from their warlord, but they pay 0 for the three detachments. So they start with 14.

He spent 3 cp on extra relics and warlord traits. So he ended up with 11 cp.

Hmm, I've only glanced through the codex myself. But the Raiding Forces rule does seem to say that every detachment needs to be a Patrol in order for them to not cost anything.
Does anyone know if there's another rule somewhere in there that modifies this?

   
Made in gb
Sister Oh-So Repentia




United Kingdom

RandomHeretic wrote:
What I know is that his whole army gets +1 to wound and +1 damage for every range weapon. This is the Dark Technomancer buff, and it effects every unit whether they are in a transport or not. Because none of them roll to hit there is no downside other than range.


And how did he get the strength up to the levels you quote in the report: "This means that his liquifiers now have an effective s7, ap-2, 2 damage, and his spirit syphons are an effective s8, ap-2, d2 or d3."

Since you mentioned that the liquifiers are s4, I'm trying to figure out how he got to s7 like that.

Which is why I'm asking if the covens have a rule for stacking? Or some other rule specific to Dark Eldar?
Because if I take my SoB with the same detachment setup and make them all order of bloody rose, I don't get +3 attacks on applicable units (when charging, charged or heroically intervening) and extra -3ap on all melee and pistols, I just get +1 attack and extra -1ap across all the applicable (anything with order keyword) units in all the detachments.

It just sounds more and more like this competitive friend just cheated you.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2021/04/27 07:22:44


   
Made in it
Gargantuan Gargant




Italy

They're not really S7, but +1 to wound on them has basically the same effect of making them S7.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Arson Fire wrote:
RandomHeretic wrote:
Regarding my opponent's CP:

Drukhari get patrols for free.

RAW, the detachment their warlord is in still refunds them CP. So they start with the base 12, +2 for the refund from their warlord, but they pay 0 for the three detachments. So they start with 14.

He spent 3 cp on extra relics and warlord traits. So he ended up with 11 cp.

Hmm, I've only glanced through the codex myself. But the Raiding Forces rule does seem to say that every detachment needs to be a Patrol in order for them to not cost anything.
Does anyone know if there's another rule somewhere in there that modifies this?



Exactly this. Only lists using multiple patrols get their +2CP bonus.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/27 08:10:16


Orks 7000
Space Wolves 4000
 
   
Made in gb
Sister Oh-So Repentia




United Kingdom

 Blackie wrote:
They're not really S7, but +1 to wound on them has basically the same effect of making them S7.


Thanks for that, reading comprehension fail on my part. Though I am reading off a tiny, cracked, outdated phone.
I take it back.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/04/27 15:56:24


   
Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba






Arson Fire wrote:
RandomHeretic wrote:
Regarding my opponent's CP:

Drukhari get patrols for free.

RAW, the detachment their warlord is in still refunds them CP. So they start with the base 12, +2 for the refund from their warlord, but they pay 0 for the three detachments. So they start with 14.

He spent 3 cp on extra relics and warlord traits. So he ended up with 11 cp.

Hmm, I've only glanced through the codex myself. But the Raiding Forces rule does seem to say that every detachment needs to be a Patrol in order for them to not cost anything.
Does anyone know if there's another rule somewhere in there that modifies this?



Every detachment in the drukhari player's list is a patrol as far as I can tell. He's got 3 drukhari patrols, so they all cost zero, and (unclear if at this poitn this is intentional or just GW being dumb) gets extra 2cp.

"I can't believe all these tryhard WAACs out there just care about winning all the time when it's supposed to be a game for fun!!!!!!! Also here's my 27 page essay on why marines are OP and Orkz should get a bunch of OP rules so I can win more games

-the_scotsman"

-ERJAK 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

Ah my mistake. I thought the Grotesques were troops for some reason. That part of the list checks out then.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K Battle Reports
Go to: