Switch Theme:

Blood Angels - Do I need two books to play?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
Author Message

Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.

Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot

Clermont De L'Oise

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question. My excuse is that Covid had left me high and dry on 9th and my main factions for the last 15 years have been Guard and Orks

I was looking to start a BA army but noticed that their Codex it marked as a supplement. Does this mean I need the vanilla SM Codex and the BA supplement just to play the army?


Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge

The Marine codex has all the generic units and basic chapter rules available to all the Subfactions, the BA supplement has chapter-specific units/relics/stratagems. It's not required to have both to play BA but if you're using anything chapter-specific you will need both.
For example, if you bought the BA Combat Patrol you would only need the SM codex to use its contents. If you wanted to add a unit of Death Company or use the BA psychic powers you would then need to get the BA supplement.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/03 12:17:40

Made in de
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator


Yes, you need the SM codex plus the BA supplement.
In former editions, BA had a stand-alone codex but these days are gone.

Former moderator 40kOnline

Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!

Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a "" I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."

Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss 
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator

 wuestenfux wrote:
Yes, you need the SM codex plus the BA supplement.
In former editions, BA had a stand-alone codex but these days are gone.

Originally BA had to share a codex with the DA, I think it was called Angels of Death back in second. They were also just a supplement booklet to the main SM codex in 3rd or 4th edition.

Really they have just gone back to how they used to be with the other 5 first foundings also getting a bit of extra love (to be honest up until 8th it was Codex Ultramarines in all but name like it was back in Second)
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: