Switch Theme:

Orks: Pyromaniacs and grots  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Danmark

You can re-roll any and all of the dice when determining the number of shots made for burnas, skorchas, burna bottles, burna exhausts, killa jets and skorcha missiles equipped on models in a unit with this Subkultur. When resolving an attack made with the melee profile of a burna equipped on a model with this Subkultur, you can re-roll the wound roll. When resolving the Burna Bombs ability for a unit with this Subkultur, add 1 to each roll.

Grots:
Units comprised entirely of GRETCHIN cannot benefit from any Clan Kultur. In addition, Ork Stratagems can only be used on these units if the Stratagem explicitly states so (e.g. the ‘Grot Shields’ Stratagem).


Hey guys. Grots dont benefit from any ork klan culture, except ofc grot mobs, but i was wondering if Pyromaniacs somehow bypasses this. Because pyromaniacs dont really buff grots at all, they just buff specific weapons, which the grots are also able to take. So if the buff belongs to the weapons and not the grots, does that mean grots are allowed to reroll scorcha numbers on their killa kanz, grot tanks and grot mega tanks?

Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"Units comprised entirely of GRETCHIN cannot benefit from any Clan Kultur."

That says it all.

If you are trying to re-roll any and all of the dice when determining the number of shots for weapons in a "Unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN", then that is breaking the rules, since that would be a "Unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN" benefiting from "Pyromaniacs"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/04 05:20:35


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Danmark

as i figured. but i wanted to be sure

Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Agreed. If the grots are getting re-rolls then they are benefitting, which is not allowed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/04 06:47:32


7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Danmark

Well it was worth asking for as rerolling 7 Scorchas on a Grot Mega tank sounded amazing

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/04 10:01:43


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
"Units comprised entirely of GRETCHIN cannot benefit from any Clan Kultur."

That says it all.

If you are trying to re-roll any and all of the dice when determining the number of shots for weapons in a "Unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN", then that is breaking the rules, since that would be a "Unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN" benefiting from "Pyromaniacs"


There are subkultures in Saga of the Beast which can benefit Gretchin (Cheeky Zoggerz being a primary one)

Warhammer Community previously discussed it when talking about making a Grot Army. https://www.warhammer-community.com/2020/03/20/waaagh-grotsgw-homepage-post-2/
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 doctortom wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
"Units comprised entirely of GRETCHIN cannot benefit from any Clan Kultur."

That says it all.

If you are trying to re-roll any and all of the dice when determining the number of shots for weapons in a "Unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN", then that is breaking the rules, since that would be a "Unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN" benefiting from "Pyromaniacs"


There are subkultures in Saga of the Beast which can benefit Gretchin (Cheeky Zoggerz being a primary one)

Warhammer Community previously discussed it when talking about making a Grot Army. https://www.warhammer-community.com/2020/03/20/waaagh-grotsgw-homepage-post-2/
It seems like subkultures and Clan Kulturs are different things.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Could also be a case of 'specific' over 'general.'
If some Clan Kultur specifically mentions Gretchin, it is likely as an exception to this restriction.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2021/05/04 19:13:01


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






If your army is Battle-forged, all <CLAN> units from an ORK Detachment (excluding those in Super-heavy Auxiliary Detachments) can gain a Subkultur instead of a Clan Kultur, so long as every unit in that Detachment is from the same specialist mob. The Subkultur gained depends upon the specialist mob they are from. For example, all units from a PYROMANIAC Detachment gain the ‘Arsonists’ Subkultur. Some specialist mobs specify what models can benefit from its Subkultur. This does not prevent you from including other models of the same specialist mob in that detachment, it simply means those models cannot make use of that Subkultur.

Subkultures aren't Clan Kultures, and there is nothing preventing GRETCHIN from getting subkultures.

Therefore, GRETCHIN units get full benefit from any subculture (assuming the fulfill that subkulture's requirements), including Pyromaniacs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/12 09:03:00


Earth is not flat
Vaccines work
We've been to the moon
Climate change is real
Chemtrails aren't a thing
Evolution is a fact
Orks are not a melee army
Stand up for science!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes, Gretchin get full benefit of Pyromaniacs. So would Ork Burna Boyz.

It depends on what you're trying to do with your army and how many Gretchin type units you have as to whether you want Pyromaniacs (getting the bonus damage to flame weapons) or Cheeky Zoggers (all the GRETCHIN models, get a 6+ invulnerable save, and the Killa Kans, Grot Tanks and Grot Mega Tanks that you indicated you're taking (any grot vehicles) get to re-roll a hit roll of 1.)
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Danmark

 Jidmah wrote:
If your army is Battle-forged, all <CLAN> units from an ORK Detachment (excluding those in Super-heavy Auxiliary Detachments) can gain a Subkultur instead of a Clan Kultur, so long as every unit in that Detachment is from the same specialist mob. The Subkultur gained depends upon the specialist mob they are from. For example, all units from a PYROMANIAC Detachment gain the ‘Arsonists’ Subkultur. Some specialist mobs specify what models can benefit from its Subkultur. This does not prevent you from including other models of the same specialist mob in that detachment, it simply means those models cannot make use of that Subkultur.

Subkultures aren't Clan Kultures, and there is nothing preventing GRETCHIN from getting subkultures.

Therefore, GRETCHIN units get full benefit from any subculture (assuming the fulfill that subkulture's requirements), including Pyromaniacs.


Seriously? I thought they only benefitted from grot mob?

Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Beardedragon wrote:
 Jidmah wrote:
If your army is Battle-forged, all <CLAN> units from an ORK Detachment (excluding those in Super-heavy Auxiliary Detachments) can gain a Subkultur instead of a Clan Kultur, so long as every unit in that Detachment is from the same specialist mob. The Subkultur gained depends upon the specialist mob they are from. For example, all units from a PYROMANIAC Detachment gain the ‘Arsonists’ Subkultur. Some specialist mobs specify what models can benefit from its Subkultur. This does not prevent you from including other models of the same specialist mob in that detachment, it simply means those models cannot make use of that Subkultur.

Subkultures aren't Clan Kultures, and there is nothing preventing GRETCHIN from getting subkultures.

Therefore, GRETCHIN units get full benefit from any subculture (assuming the fulfill that subkulture's requirements), including Pyromaniacs.


Seriously? I thought they only benefitted from grot mob?


The Cheeky Zoggers subkultur specifies it affects GRETCHIN models only. Pyromaniac doesn't list any ORK or GRETCHIN limitations, but there's already a limitation on the weapons affected by it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/12 19:55:42


 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Danmark

 doctortom wrote:
Beardedragon wrote:
 Jidmah wrote:
If your army is Battle-forged, all <CLAN> units from an ORK Detachment (excluding those in Super-heavy Auxiliary Detachments) can gain a Subkultur instead of a Clan Kultur, so long as every unit in that Detachment is from the same specialist mob. The Subkultur gained depends upon the specialist mob they are from. For example, all units from a PYROMANIAC Detachment gain the ‘Arsonists’ Subkultur. Some specialist mobs specify what models can benefit from its Subkultur. This does not prevent you from including other models of the same specialist mob in that detachment, it simply means those models cannot make use of that Subkultur.

Subkultures aren't Clan Kultures, and there is nothing preventing GRETCHIN from getting subkultures.

Therefore, GRETCHIN units get full benefit from any subculture (assuming the fulfill that subkulture's requirements), including Pyromaniacs.


Seriously? I thought they only benefitted from grot mob?


The Cheeky Zoggers subkultur specifies it affects GRETCHIN models only. Pyromaniac doesn't list any ORK or GRETCHIN limitations, but there's already a limitation on the weapons affected by it.


I see. So just to clarify, it DOES work on Grots? or specifically as im looking for, Mega tanks with scorchas? This is weird. Ive played warhammer the last year thinking Grots could only benefit from ONE culture, and thats the cheeky zoggers grot mob. I figured Subcultures were cultures?

How widely known is this knowledge that grots DO benefit from sub cultures in general? Is it just me who never knew? Clearly the first people giving me answers in this thread didnt know either, but maybe thats because i only listed grots and how they dont benefit from culture, without writing that the arsonist thing is a subculture not a normal culture. It would mean they also benefit from Boom boyz when your killa kanz and Grot tanks/Mega tanks equip rokkits as well.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/05/13 08:00:18


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes, it works on grots. The Pyromaniac rule had "equipped on models in a unit with this Subkultur". They did not limit it to a keyword, so any unit that has the weapons listed (including mega tanks) would be able to use it; it doesn't matter if it has the GRETCHIN keyword. You could have a mixture of orks and grots, and they would get Pyromaniacs. You could have your megatank, a unit of Killa Kans with skorchas, a unit of Burna Boys and a Kustom Boosta-Blasta (with its burna exhausts), and they would all be able to take advantage of the Pyromaniac rule.
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Danmark

I see. also, it does exclusively say on some sub cultures that dont work on grots so i guess thats that. Subcultures generally works on grots, except when specifically said they dont.

Thanks guys.

Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: