Switch Theme:

Callidus assaasin reign of confusion help  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello I am about to go into a tourney in 9 hours and request some clarification on the callidus assassin's reign of confusion ability. I have been hearing in a lot of places that she does not need to be on the battlefield for it to work. Her rules imply this heavily. Some even say she can be dead and it works for whatever reason. This seems to be the consensus on several websites, but they are all posted from the 8th edition era and I need something in 9th. There is even a stratagem that allows her ability to go off even if she is still in reserve for a second turn after the first. If someone can please back up the interpretation that would be awesome. Here is the rule -

Reign of Confusion: If you have any models with this ability in your army, then in the first battle round, roll one D6 each time your opponent spends Command Points (CPs) to use a Stratagem. On a 4+ your opponent must spend one additional CP to use that Stratagem, or else it has no effect (any CPs spent so far are lost). This ability cannot affect Stratagems used before the battle.

And here is that rude stratagem -

SUPREME DECEPTION

Callidus Stratagem

Operatives of the Callidus Temple are peerless infiltrators, able to disrupt any chain of command.

Use this Stratagem at the start of any battle round after the first. Choose one CALLIDUS ASSASSIN from your army (this can be one that is not on the battlefield). That model’s Reign of Confusion ability is considered to be in effect until the end of that battle round. You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.


   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Callidus Assassin does not have to be on the battlefield for the Reign of Confusion ability to work because the Reign of Confusion ability says:

"If you have any models with this ability in your army, then in the first battle round..."

So if the Callidus Assassin is in your army, the Reign of Confusion ability works. Does not matter if the Callidus Assassin is embarked, and not on the battlefield, or removed as a casualty because the Callidus Assassin is still "in your army" even if it is embarked and not on the battlefield, or has been removed as a casualty.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/15 08:32:38


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 DeathReaper wrote:
The Callidus Assassin does not have to be on the battlefield for the Reign of Confusion ability to work because the Reign of Confusion ability says:

"If you have any models with this ability in your army, then in the first battle round..."

So if the Callidus Assassin is in your army, the Reign of Confusion ability works. Does not matter if the Callidus Assassin is embarked, and not on the battlefield, or removed as a casualty because the Callidus Assassin is still "in your army" even if it is embarked and not on the battlefield, or has been removed as a casualty.


Perfect. All I needed to see. Now let's hope that unit pays off. Thanks.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




I would have to agree, although I think it's a fairly poorly worded rule, and I would be surprised if a TO let you play that after the model dies/is destroyed. Anyone else with tournament xp ever seen this?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In your army is well defined, however. We know exactly what it means.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




So where does it say a destroyed model is "Still in your army"? Because on your list is not "in your army. My point is that once it's dead, it stops.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

Army is defined in the rules glossary as "A player's army consist of every model in their army roster and any models added to it over the course of the battle." Therefore, destroyed models are still part of a player's army.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Thank you that was exactly what I needed to hear.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: