Switch Theme:

Emporer's Children Excess of Violence How many extra attacks?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Lets say I have an EC Lord charge a unit of necrons.

"Until the end of that
phase, if an attack made by a model in that unit
destroys an enemy model, the attacking model can
make one additional attack against the same unit
using the same weapon."

if each attack gets a kill and I have 4 attacks that suceeded, then I have 4 more attacks. I don't see anything that limits extra attacks from creating more extra attacks, so as long as I kill a model each time I could wipe an entire unit of 20 necron warriors? Or is this basically written that I'm supposed to know that I get 1 bonus swing and I'm done?
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

 Sazzlefrats wrote:
Lets say I have an EC Lord charge a unit of necrons.

"Until the end of that
phase, if an attack made by a model in that unit
destroys an enemy model, the attacking model can
make one additional attack against the same unit
using the same weapon."

if each attack gets a kill and I have 4 attacks that suceeded, then I have 4 more attacks. I don't see anything that limits extra attacks from creating more extra attacks, so as long as I kill a model each time I could wipe an entire unit of 20 necron warriors? Or is this basically written that I'm supposed to know that I get 1 bonus swing and I'm done?
You can get infinite attacks from that, yes. Provided you keep killing and killing and killing.

For instance, if you're attacking a squad of Conscripts (T3, 5+) with a Lightning Claw on a unit that has Veterans of the Long War, Prescience, and RR1s to-hit from a Lord or something, you'd expect to get at least a dozen swings per attack made, since each swing has a 94.5% chance of killing a guy.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Normally such abilities have a footnote saying the excess attacks can't grant additional attacks, but if this one doesn't then I don't see what's stopping you.

   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

Per page 3 of the Codex: Chaos Space Marines FAQ, it appears to be no.:

Q: Are the bonus attacks from [i]Death to the False Emperor and the Excess of Violence Stratagem cumulative? For example, if a model with an Attacks characteristic of 1 rolled a hit roll of 6+ when attacking an Imperium unit (thereby giving it an extra attack) and then both of those attacks killed enemy models, would I then make two extra attacks for that model? If yes, what happens if I roll hit rolls of 6+ for these attacks?[/i]
A: Yes, they are cumulative. In the example given, you would make two extra attacks but any further hit rolls of 6+ (and any subsequent models destroyed) would not generate any further attacks.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Sounds like just 1 extra attack and done.

BTW why is the FAQ for excess of violence .....


Oh I see.. the faith and fury book needs a FAQ.. "(these bonus attacks cannot
themselves generate any further attacks)." Lame.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/17 04:34:43


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: