Switch Theme:

Charge and flying vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello everyone, i have a doubt, when charging a flying vehicles that misures distance from hull or base (such as the necron tesseract vault) do you need to get 1 inch from the base or from the projection of its hull on the board?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




It will depend on the model you're charging. Most flying/hovering vehicles have a rule saying you measure to either the hull or the base but there may be some exceptions. In all cases where you measure to the hull you don't measure to a projection of the hull but to the hull itself (ie, its physical location not some virtual projection in 2D space).
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok but in the case of the tesseract vault the hull it's to high for most models, do they need to get to the base?
   
Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut




Engagement range is 1" horizontally, and 5" vertically (a cylinder, basically) . Since most flying vehicles are less than 5" above ground level, you will always get a successfull charge against them if you move within 1" from their hull's "projection". If the vault is higher than 5" above ground, you will have to get within 1" of its base.

Edit. Appartently the vault's stand is exactly 5" tall, so getting within 1" of it's projection will suffice.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/05/21 12:16:19


 
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Seizeman wrote:
Engagement range is 1" horizontally, and 5" vertically (a cylinder, basically) . Since most flying vehicles are less than 5" above ground level, you will always get a successfull charge against them if you move within 1" from their hull's "projection". If the vault is higher than 5" above ground, you will have to get within 1" of its base.


That's what i thought as well, thank you.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: