Switch Theme:

Smasha gun interaction with abilties that trigger on a wound roll -Tau Saviour Protocols/Transhuman  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Roarin' Runtherd




United Kingdom

Smasha gun -Instead of making a wound roll for this weapon, roll 2D6. If the result is equal to or greater than the target’s Toughness characteristic, the attack successfully wounds.

Saviour Protocols: When resolving an attack made against a <SEPT> INFANTRY or <SEPT> BATTLESUIT unit whilst that unit is within 3" of a friendly <SEPT> DRONES unit, if the wound roll is successful, you can roll one D6; on a 2+ that DRONES unit suffers 1 mortal wound and the attack sequence ends.

Smasha wording indicates it isn't a wound roll.
Saviour Protocols triggers on a successful wound roll - if there is no wound roll does that mean Saviour Protocols does not trigger?

also there are othere weapons that work the same as the smasha gun but are worded differently -

Stompa Lifta Droppa - Each time an attack made with this weapon successfully hits, roll 3D6. If the result is greater than the target’s Toughness characteristic, that attack successfully wounds.
Does this weapon have a wound roll? the wording "Instead of making a wound roll for this weapon" has been dropped.

I have no idea if these weapons count as having wound rolls for rules purposes such as Tau Saviour Protocols/Transhuman and CP Command Reroll.

in the core rules a wound roll is defined as -
"Wound roll: Roll one D6 and compare attack’s S with target’s T on table to the left. Target wounded if score equals or beats the required result. Otherwise attack fails."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/05/24 01:18:29


SMASH  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 kingbbobb wrote:
Smasha gun -Instead of making a wound roll for this weapon, roll 2D6. If the result is equal to or greater than the target’s Toughness characteristic, the attack successfully wounds.

Saviour Protocols: When resolving an attack made against a <SEPT> INFANTRY or <SEPT> BATTLESUIT unit whilst that unit is within 3" of a friendly <SEPT> DRONES unit, if the wound roll is successful, you can roll one D6; on a 2+ that DRONES unit suffers 1 mortal wound and the attack sequence ends.

Smasha wording indicates it isn't a wound roll.
Saviour Protocols triggers on a successful wound roll - if there is no wound roll does that mean Saviour Protocols does not trigger?
That is correct.

If you do not have a wound roll, then Saviour Protocols does nothing.

also there are othere weapons that work the same as the smasha gun but are worded differently -

Stompa Lifta Droppa - Each time an attack made with this weapon successfully hits, roll 3D6. If the result is greater than the target’s Toughness characteristic, that attack successfully wounds.
Does this weapon have a wound roll? the wording "Instead of making a wound roll for this weapon" has been dropped.

I have no idea if these weapons count as having wound rolls for rules purposes such as Tau Saviour Protocols/Transhuman and CP Command Reroll.

in the core rules a wound roll is defined as -
"Wound roll: Roll one D6 and compare attack’s S with target’s T on table to the left. Target wounded if score equals or beats the required result. Otherwise attack fails."
If you do not "Roll one D6 and compare attack’s S with target’s T on table to the left" then it is not a wound roll and things that activate off of a wound roll would not activate.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. Saviour protocols requires a wound roll.

Any hits that auto wound on a 6, for example, also do not allow saviour protocols.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

Actually, Automatically Wounds is defined in the Glossary as the Wound Roll succeeds. You are able to use it as a Wound Roll trigger.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ah ok, hadn't spotted. -thanks for that!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:
Actually, Automatically Wounds is defined in the Glossary as the Wound Roll succeeds. You are able to use it as a Wound Roll trigger.
Sure, but the Smasha gun does not "Automatically Wounds". Same goes for the Stompa Lifta Droppa.

(I know you were specifically replying to nosferatu1001, but I wanted to be clear about the two weapons).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/24 16:40:09


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

We are in complete agreement.
   
Made in gb
Roarin' Runtherd




United Kingdom

all good information, helped me in my local game against a tau player. thank you.

SMASH  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: